X-Mas Tree Lighting at Rockefeller Center!

Get in the Christmas Spirit!!!!

The 2011 Rockefeller Center Christmas Tree will officially be lit tomorrow (Wednesday) November 30, 2011.  There will be live performances by numerous well-known artists held at Rock. Center starting at 7PM.  The ceremony will last until around 9PM when the tree will officially be lit!  The tree at Rock. Center will stay lit until January 7th.

For those of you who have never seen the tree lighting before, I suggest you TiVo it because it is definitely worth seeing! Orrrr.. maybe we will get out of class early? Who knows!  The event held at Rock. Center is a world-wide known celebration to get in the spirit of Christmas!  There are thousands and thousands of people who come from all over the city and tri-state area to see the spectacular tree get lit!

The GIANT tree was delivered to Roc. Center on Nov. 11, 2011 and was put into position with a crane.  There was a series of maintenance done to the tree in order to get it ready for the lighting ceremony.  There are over 30,000 colored LED lights that will be lit, which adds up to over 5 miles of wire. ( http://www.rockefellercenter.com/events/2011/11/11/2011-rockefeller-tree-arrival/ )

This tradition at Rockefeller Center has been going on for as long as I can remember and they always put on a great show!!! Has anyone ever been to the actual lighting? What was it like? Has anyone never seen the lighting of the tree before?

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Hint taken! I will try to end class early so we can get there before it’s lit.
    So much to talk about tomorrow…

  2. Rebekah says:

    Yeah, I’m sure! Awful timing!!!!!

  3. emcanna11 says:

    Oh really bad timing!
    I am so excited to see the tree! We have enormous trees in Paris but not as cool as this one. I don’t have Tivo…maybe I will find it on youtube?!

    1. Rebekah says:

      Possibly… I’m sure people will definitely be uploading things the whole time!!! What is the tree in Paris like? Do you have any pictures?

      Sent from my iPhone

  4. I saw the lighting once when I was a kid – my mother and I happened to walk by it. There were probably a few hundred people there – nothing crazy, no big deal but neat to see.

    The last time I thought about dropping by (some time in the late 90s), the closest I could get was three blocks away – there were tens of thousands there! Seems like you’d need to get there before class started – which I’m sure no one in our class would do. Right? (hears dead silence).

  5. Rebekah says:

    Hahahaa, so I guess over the years it has grown significantly!! I heard a story last night from my friends mom and she said one night they just happen to be in the city during the ceremony and they didn’t even mean to go to the lighting but they got stuck walking in the direction that everyone else was walking and they ended up at it… but they couldn’t get closer than 3 blocks away. So, it really is packed!

  6. Kathleen says:

    I love going to see the tree at Rockefeller Center…it never gets old 🙂 I’ve never gone to see the lighting because I’ve also heard stories of the crowds!!

    1. Rebekah says:

      Yeah I love to go see it after it gets lit too but I don’t think I will ever actually go to the lighting I am not down with the mayhem haha

      Sent from my iPhone

  7. maytichak says:

    I’ve been looking forward for today, i wanted to see the tree lit! (didn’t realize we have class until now!) let’s hope prof will let us out early! i’m exciteddd! we don’t have real/big christmas trees lit in thailand! lol

    1. Rebekah says:

      Hahaah yeah this one is huge!!

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a comment