Sick = Home Sick

Sickness is all that i could think of in the past week, as sick i was indeed. Since the cold cold evening, on our previous Tuesday class, i had a almost sure feeling its that time of the year for me. Yes, once every year i end up super sick and end up in bed rest for a at-least a week. By the time i got home, i was shivering all over my body, and found myself under multiple blankets and still feeling cold.

Soon my roommates came to my rescue with all the available medicines. But, deep down i knew this isn’t something that was gonna be resolved by off the shelf medicines. Next day by first thought was to call my mom and my granny and inform them about the unpleasant state of my health, but i decided  not to cause worry to them. After a visit to the doctor, i learnt its a viral infection and would require a few days of bed rest as suggested by the doc.

Being sick, and being all by yourself in a foreign land with no family, is not a easy task. Ohh i hated it.. I have lived on my own after my junior college for 5 years, i am independent and strong but not when i am down… when i am down i am a MUMMA’S BOY!! Being sick health ways, physically was not bad enough, being mentally and emotionally Home- Sick, made it even worse.

After 4 days of being alone all day, taking medicine and keeping myself hydrated was too much. I was tired, stressed and still sick, and was in no mood to silent the not to wise though in my head. But that trick in my head has always worked in the past, Cold-Takes Cold-Away. Soon, i called my roommate to bring home some ice-cream. But this time the trick didn’t work its charm. That night my body temperature took a new high of 104 F and i was scared my head was gonna explode. In panic i decided to take a head shower, and Tadda!! Health recovered!

This was my first sickness away from my family, and boy was it tough.  How do you tackle sickness if you are alone? Do you have any crazy tricks that work on sickness?

12 Comments Add yours

  1. judithdandan says:

    So sorry to hear that. The health is super important for us.

    1. lonelyfatbeard says:

      say the saying goes health is wealth

  2. ghadeeralsh4 says:

    It is not the right time for me to talk about being alone (If you read my blog you will understand) because I can say this is the week of the year that I feel bad in. A good thing is that I am feeling better today I guess the reason is because I woke up today and heard a vice note from my best friend in saudi and heard what I exactly needed to feel good. I think you really need to see a doctor because shelf medicine won’t help.

    1. lonelyfatbeard says:

      true that, i was restricting to visit the doctor, because then i feel i have accepted defeat to the illness.

  3. rabi80 says:

    sorry for your sickness, yes it is hard when you get sick and far away from family.. moms have special medicine!!

    1. lonelyfatbeard says:

      mom and the best medicines that work magic are from gandmothers

  4. jodyleylax says:

    wow! sounds like you had a really rough time! I’m happy you’re feeling better now. I don’t normally get sick because I take my daily vitamins, you should too, it helps keep sickness at bay and lets be for real, no-one has time to be sick for days!

    1. lonelyfatbeard says:

      I have never giving a thought to vitamin supplements. may be its time to do so…as you said cant afford to fall sick even for a day

  5. kimberlyo1 says:

    Sorry about falling ill. Good thing you’re all good now.

    1. lonelyfatbeard says:

      Yup!! glad to be back in the game

  6. reemkulaib says:

    sorry about that, Good you’re fine now, but next time trey to take medicine immediately when you feel sick that works with me I hope will work with you.

    1. lonelyfatbeard says:

      yeah i need to keep that in mind, and not avoid a doctors visit. thanks for your good wishes

Leave a Reply

