The Beauty In Brotherhood

Growing up from watching different childhood television shows I had always had bad views of joining a fraternity. There so many shows that portray girls in sororities as well dressed snobs, and guys in fraternities as muscular jocks. I also thought all they did was come together to either gossip or to party. So when I came to united states I was 100 percent sure I was never going to be in one. My mom at the time was also not about it. She did not like the idea of me being a part of what she thought was similar to a cult. So when I was first approached by some girls to attend their rush week I was quite skeptical. I decided to go with my best friend Kaitlyn anyways just to see for myself what it is all like. When we got to the location given to me I had arrived at a three-floor house with a huge driveway. The front of the house was beautifully decorated. There were flowers and Christmas tree lights everywhere, it all made the place look like a castle. I waited in line for an hour before we were let in. Inside there were over 100 girls dressed in a white tank top with their letter written on the front of in Pink with black shorts. I thought to myself so cliche, of course everyone was wearing the same thing. We were immediately put into random groups of five. The girl in charge of my group was really pretty but she was barely interested in what any of us had to say. All she did was talk about herself and how amazing she was. Then out of nowhere one of the girls screams something and they all started snapping. At that point, I knew I had made mistake by coming to the event. I said to myself I am definitely not going to an event like that again

However when I met Allen Ho. He was one of the kindest people I have ever met. He introduced to a group of guys and girl just chilling in his living room area as his fraternity brothers. I was shocked to learn that both male and female could be a part of one fraternity. I sure did not even know there was anything such as a professional one. It was so nice to see people so down to earth and having fun together. I hung out with them the whole day and I enjoyed my time. So I decided to go their rush week event to see what the whole brotherhood was like. It was very much different from the first rush event I went to. This one was in a campus lecture room. All the brothers were wearing different outfits but most of them had a clothing with the frat letter on them. The president gave us his speech and showed us the rush video. He told us a story about how everyone in the fraternity is always there for one another. You also have so much network of people in the different business industry that could be a possible job connection. I became hooked I wanted to be a part of it because not only was everyone real and nice, there also knew how to have intelligent conversations. I pledged that semester I became a member of the Fall 2014 Alpha Kappa Class of Alpha Kappa Psi – Omicron Tau. April 22nd, 2017 was my last banquet I attended. It was so nice getting to spend one last time with everyone in my brotherhood most especially my little Keana. It made me realize that you can always find peace, love, and support in total strangers who become your Brother.

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. rabi80 says:

    One of the disadvantages of media or tv is stereotype they always show the extreme.

    1. kimberlyo1 says:

      I know right. It such a shame they do not always share the good knowledge.

  2. jodyleylax says:

    I had no clue that there were mixed fraternities! That is amazing! I’m happy you found a family away from home, you look extremely happy in those photos.

    1. kimberlyo1 says:

      I know me too. Thanks, I really am. I enjoy hanging and partying with them

  3. ghadeeralsh4 says:

    Really @jodyleylax and @kimberlyo1 how come you didn’t know there are mixed once!! I’ve been living here for less then 2 years and I know this :p however I think being parts of these frats needs a lot of time and effort.

    1. kimberlyo1 says:

      Haha well, I didn’t really try to learn about the greek like till I was interested in akpsi. Yes, it’s definitely a lot of time but if you enjoy it it’s not too bad.

  4. ineskrb says:

    Fraternities for me, its like movie ! I love it ! When I see your picture I always think of the serie “Greek”!

Leave a Reply

