Should I Start a Youtube Series?

Photo by Jody-Ann Simpson

While classes were out for Spring Break and my favorite class didn’t get to meet for two weeks because of the snow, (I really hate snow by the way), the work kept moving at a great pace and I followed it to the deep end! Any other college student would have taken the week off to relax and breathe before the craziness started up again but I’m not the typical college student so that scenario didn’t quite work for me, as much as I would love it to.

I have been strategically thinking and planning on starting a Youtube series. As most of you know, I am a singer but the only videos on my Youtube channel are performance videos, not that there is anything wrong with that but I want more remarkable content.

My plan is to put out more videos that could perhaps turn into a series. The main focus right off the back is to create a project that puts emphasis on dance and poetry and then a video blog (Vlog) about the process of making that video.

I believe that this will allow me to express my other creative skills and permit me to get more personal than just being mysterious and poetic.

Obsessively watching Youtuber Shameless Maya all week not only gave me the inspiration I needed to get my channel up and running, but it also gave me some very insightful tips about how to light videos, what equipments to use and how to edit.

As an avid social media user, I believe that the audience will come if I open up the conversation to them.

What do you think, should I go ahead and get this channel up and running? And what about you, do you have a favorite channel?

15 Comments Add yours

  1. judithdandan says:

    I watched your personal channel. It is a cool thing to start youtube series. It can give you a opportunity to let people know you and get high traffic.

    1. jodyleylax says:

      That’s what I was thinking too, I need more traffic!

  2. rabi80 says:

    I think you should , and yes I agree to let people know you more.

    1. jodyleylax says:

      I shall, I want to say hello to a lot of people and I think that it will allow me to so just that

  3. lonelyfatbeard says:

    I think you should start with snapchat clips… just try and experiment what the audience is responding too and then develop the vlog.

    1. jodyleylax says:

      That’s a good point but I personally don’t want snapchat, it’s pointless to me, why record something that’s going to disappear in 24hrs? I want things to last so people can go back to it whenever they feel like it.

      1. lonelyfatbeard says:

        I completely get your intention of creating something that lasts.. but when something disappears in 24hrs… it gives u ample space to make errors and learn thats how i see it

      2. noufabdulla says:

        I agree with Dev, you can start with Snapchat, but there is a thing and many of people do it, you can upload all of your snaps on Youtube! so you will use both of them and save in the same time. 😀

      3. I’m going to agree with Deval here, in that the Snapchat clips will be like an appetizer. You’ll get people ready for the main course while building up demand for more.

      4. jodyleylax says:

        *sigh* I guess I really have to get over my hate for snapchat soon.

  4. jodyleylax says:

    I really don’t like Snapchat, the only thing that I like about it is the filters but that’s about it

  5. ghadeeralsh4 says:

    of course you should go for it!! I really would like to visit in the future and have free VIP tickets for one of your concerts:p

    1. jodyleylax says:

      Yea you should come! All access pass!! I’ll go for it.

  6. reemkulaib says:

    I think you have to try and start a Youtube series . I really like watch videos on Youtube , so I think the hall class will support you.

    1. jodyleylax says:

      Thank you, I’m really excited to get this up and running!

Leave a Reply

