Why I Like To Make My Own Travel Plans

on

Nowadays, tourism is one the most powerful of business sectors. Even with the crisis, its activities have decreased in terms of influence, and consummation but, it stays a very competitive sector. There are different formulas to plan travels as tour groups, resorts or all-inclusive club. Today, it’s very easy to travel. In my opinion, for several reasons I prefer to make my own travel plans.

The first reason why I like to make my own travel plans is for the spontaneity. With tour groups, the date and hours are already fixed. It is the same for the itinerary. You can’t do what you want to do. You just have to follow the guide and by consequences the group. There is no flexibility. For example, if I see a beautiful temple in Thailand, I can’t ask the bus to stop I can take pictures because this step is not planned by the agency. They want to manage their time and that destroys the travel. In my view, sometimes, we have to take our time to enjoy what we are experiencing.

Another reason is the authenticity. For me, there is no travel without authenticity. We must see the traditions and customs of a country. This is a huge point of why I don’t take tour groups. The touristic itinerary is very limited to the traditional tours based on tourists. Some places are very well known and important, and it’s mandatory to see them such as The Taj Mahal in India, but there are so many tourists. Moreover, being with a lot of tourists is very impersonal. The difference is when you make your own plan, you can discover some unknown places as a deserted beach. It is so much more intimate.

The final reason is the conviviality with locals. When you plan your own plans, I think you can meet more people. For me, if you really want to discover a country, you must talk with their inhabitants. Inhabitants are ambassadors of the country. They can give us better advice than agencies on activities. For example, when I was in Mauritius, my boyfriend and I always asked the taxi drivers about where we can found the best activities on this island. In my view, tour groups stay only with tourists. The circuit leaves no place to meet new cultures. Meanwhile it is the culture which makes a country so exceptional.

Everybody is different and doesn’t think in the same way. Tour groups will be interesting if you don’t have time to plan your trip. But I believe if you’re looking for spontaneity, authenticity and conviviality, you must organize your travel yourself. if you have the chance to travel, you must enjoy your adventure as much as possible.

And you, how you travel?

14 Comments Add yours

  1. rabi80 says:

    Totally agree with you, the only thing I’ll do is go on a bus tour to see the main places then I’ll be going places on my own.

    1. ineskrb says:

      the bus tour is become a tradition in big cities, yo cant miss it 😉

  2. maysarjabr says:

    Making your own plan to travel is good because you know what you like and you will save your cost

    1. ineskrb says:

      Exactly !

  3. kimberlyo1 says:

    We are on the same page. I enjoy planning my own thing I get to see what I want to see and have fun while doing so.

    1. ineskrb says:

      I think when you planned your travel, you are more exciting ! 🙂

  4. jodyleylax says:

    I agree to a point with he group travels but I think if there’s an option to customize a travel package you should go ahead and do it. I do love the spontaneity of travel and interacting with the local, they know the best places to go! I like making my own plan but I also have a list of what I want to do so I can experience everything.

    1. ineskrb says:

      Yes sure ! A list is always a good idea

  5. ghadeeralsh4 says:

    I can say that it really depends on your personalty but I see my self doing what you are doing. However, sometimes it’s fun to be with a big group:p

    1. ineskrb says:

      Yeah, thats depends on what you looking for during your travel.

  6. hajerotb says:

    I agree with you Ines.
    No one can make great plan travel than you, so you can guarantee that you will enjoy your trip the way that you want.

    1. ineskrb says:

      When you planned, you are more involved in your trip !

  7. reemkulaib says:

    I like to plan everything by myself I hate to be with group because sometime it waste my time by visiting some places i’m not interested to see, so I prefer to plan everything like I want.

    1. ineskrb says:

      I understand this feeling 🙂

Leave a Reply

