How about Baby Pink!!

This is the story about the color BABY PINK! and how it managed to become my most favorite.

On this fine beautiful day in 2007,  she walked in my chemistry class and took a seat in the very first row. It wasn’t love at first sight, we were far away from that, because i was busy with my friends in the second last row as we were taller than others!! The professor walks in,  glazes around the class…..notices me…… remembers me…… as i had made it to the top of his notorious list the previous year. He turns around to the white board and writes a big chemical theory name, and then asks me to explain it, expecting me to be shamed… But i stand up tall,replying with a perfect answer, leaving him with no option but to praise me. He turns around again to the white board, and i sit down, thinking in my head HAHAHA!!! right then she looks at me from the first row and our eyes meet, (Que background music ) we share a smile.

Her friends called her Screw…. ( its a short form for a long Indian name) .The following week, we both managed  to discover common friends and soon started walking together out of the class sharing small talks. By now Screw no longer occupied the first row in the class room, but was just one row away from me. We would talk a lot before and after class and also during it. I would pass on notes with jokes and doodles to make her laugh ( There were no smart phones!!). Many of my friends noticed us together, and suggested that may be she likes me. I didn’t agree to their idea, as i wasn’t big on falling in love or dating in my teenage and i was pretty vocal it.

So one evening, one of our common friend Chieu,  was studying with screw at her home. Chieu called me and said ” Hey, Screw likes you, but i know you don’t date, right?” And i replied ” Ya i don’t !!”. Little did i know, that after that call i would spend all my time, thinking about Screw, wondering how cute her smile is, and how pretty she looked even in that simple white Tee and ohh how uniquely she wears her hair. I think i-more-than-just-like her too.

The next day, screw didn’t smile at me, nor did we share any laughs. She was noticeably upset.
My friend , Ismail asked me whats wrong, and i mentioned the phone call from the previous day. He told me i was a fool, and that if  I am not interested in dating Screw, he is going to to ask her out. The whole day I couldn’t focus in any of the class. I didn’t know why she liked me, but i couldn’t ask her for an explanation… She liked me .. How could i wait.

At the end of that day, as she was leaving college, i asked if i could have a talk with her. For the first time in my life, i said “I want to date you coz i think  I Love You!..”. She didn’t reply.. she was quite. Then she asked me ” But you said you don’t date!”.  Her grandfather arrived in his car to pick her up. I told her, that she didn’t need to reply right this moment, but if she wants to date me too, she could wear some specific colored tee the next day. She asked what color and i said pink.  Her grandfather honked the car horn, and she started walking towards the car, and i walked the other way. After a few seconds is heard her voice asking me   ” How about BABY PINK!??” I turned around with a big smile.. and she ran off blushing away.

First Love brings along many struggles, mistakes and lessons, but it is also, the most precious, innocent and undoubtedly the cutest phase of our life. First Love, for many is also the teenage love. Feel free to comment on how naive i was, but also share your first love story.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. jodyleylax says:

    This is the cutest story but I personally hate pink, ugh! yuck!!! lol but don’t mind me lol your story is too precious!

    1. lonelyfatbeard says:

      Thanks Jody!..

  2. reemkulaib says:

    Lol it’s a funny story. I am sure you were a cute couple.

  3. ghadeeralsh4 says:

    hhhhhhhhh Thats so cute;’D And sorry yes you were super naive :p ahhh lets not talk about this my first love story!!

  4. hajerotb says:

    Cute story. I love Baby Pink too I do not know why, but it is my favorite. Thank you for sharing your story:)

    1. lonelyfatbeard says:

      Thank you.

Leave a Reply

