The Difficult Task

 Finding an apartment in NYC is the difficult task I have ever done.New York City is so huge and I was so confused about which part of the city I have to look for.

 

Before I come to NYIT I was in Saudi Arabia, so the only way for me to look for an apartment is the Internet or ask friends who are familiar with the city. I asked most of my friends. Everyone gives me a different answer. Some give me a home stay numbers other recommended Brooklyn , but they didn’t give me a specific neighborhoods. Anyway I was so worried time is passing and I looked in the Internet the rent prices were so expensive for student. Also, I found somethings weird in New York apartments people are divided the house and everyone in the house pay for his/ her room. Anyway I didn’t know what to do. I just wrote down the name for every apartment buildings I saw in the internet.

I arrived New York August 2016 with my mom and sister. We stayed at a hotel for two days. The third day my uncle came to pick up us and take us to his place in Philadelphia. We stayed at his place for two weeks looking for apartment in NYC. My uncle called everyone he knows in NYC to help me find an apartment. My school will start next week, my ancle recommend me to stay at school dorm room for one semester until I know the area very well and know exactly where to look. I was so hesitating to accept his idea. I found the price so crazy for small room. I looked in the ininternet for the last time and start to look again I use many websites like Apartment GuideWalk Score, and others more.
In he end I saw pictures for a nice building I open the picture. they took me to the building website. I called the office to ask all questions I had. Then my uncle contacted them to sign the lease. That was my struggle to find an apartment in NYC. What about you? Do you think finding an apartment in NYC so difficult!!!

8 Comments Add yours

  1. hajerotbha says:

    I agree with you. Finding apartments is very hard and weird. We used to live in other states where are this not a big deal.
    But let me tell you something, actually your experience to find an apartment was not that bad Reem because your uncle is an American so you did not need to pay for broker.
    When I arrived here, I searched a lot on the Internet, but all the availability that I found refused to rent me an apartment even Trump Tower 🙂
    until finally I decided to pay a lot of money for broker who provided me that apartment that I am living in now.

    1. reemkulaib says:

      Yeah thank God my uncle help a lot to overcome this difficult experience.

  2. rabi80 says:

    Well a good friend who if you know living here will be a good help, but the main main problem is high prices.

    1. reemkulaib says:

      Exactly I think New York is a suitable place for employee not students.

  3. jodyleylax says:

    Finding an apartment in New York is the hardest thing ever!!! Especially finding a place with no roommates at a decent price! I’m happy you found somewhere though!

    1. reemkulaib says:

      My apartment is far from school, but I like it because the price is mach with what I get because what I found in NYC the price is so high for a small space.

  4. ghadeeralsh4 says:

    Ahhhh I in few weeks I will have to go throw this 😦

    1. reemkulaib says:

      Good luck with that.

Leave a Reply

