The Funniest Responsibility Ever!


Two weeks ago, I received an email from the United Nations. It said that the UN needed volunteers for the upcoming event which was about the International Slavery Victims. I found it a great chance, so I registered for some responsibilities such as giving pass cards for guests and guiding them to the main hall. Last Friday at 5 p.m. , in front of the UN main entrance, my friend and I were waiting for the person who responsible for volunteers. Then, we took our pass cards and got in the visitor’s lobby, where we supposed to meet our boss. After that, she showed up and asked us to follow her.
Since the event about International Slavery Victims, there were a lot of tables for International food and drinks for guests, and there was a music band.

The U.S. table, which my friend and I responsible for, provided wine. Surprisingly, my friend and I found ourselves serving wine for the guests. It is not a joke!
We do not drink wine, and even do not know how to open a wine bottle, so how we can serve it? This was my question for the leader, but she said that we would have other volunteers who would help us.
Honestly, almost everyone passed by our table was wondering because non-American Muslim women, with a head scarf, is serving wine on the U.S. table. Isn’t funny!! This was the funniest experience I have ever had, and I wouldn’t have it again.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. maysarjabr says:

    Working as a volunteer is always the best chance to get more opportunity in your life.

    1. hajerotb says:

      Yeah I agree with you Maysar.

  2. judithdandan says:

    The reason I guess why your boss let you and your friend serve wine table is that they don’t know related religious ritual. I have several friends who works in UN, they told me that some departments aren’t so professional.

    1. hajerotb says:

      yes, I guess so. This surprised me though.

  3. noufabdulla says:

    Maybe they didn’t know about us and about our religion.!

  4. reemkulaib says:

    That is so funny story.

  5. ghadeeralsh4 says:

    That’s funny:p I think you won’t forget this.

Leave a Reply

