Has The Airport Ever Lost Your Luggage?

That’s a question that I never thought I’d ever ask.

Most of the times I don’t check a bag when I’m flying, I just have a carry-on and I’ll be good for however long it is that I’ll be gone. I learned to be a great packer so this is feasible all the time!

Except this ONE TIME!

I checked my bag at Midway International Airport in Chicago because I had a five-pound container of peanut butter!

I like to make peanut punch and the last time I made some, I used a lot of peanut butter and drained my supply, so when I found this five-pound container for $8.99 at Wal-Mart, there was no way that I was leaving it! So I wrapped it up in a t-shit, hoping that my bag wouldn’t get manhandled too roughly for it to burst open.

My flight was scheduled to take off at 8:20pm CDT, the flight didn’t leave till 10:15pm. I arrived at Laguardia Airport and waited by the carousel for the bags to start coming out, everyone grabbed their luggage and left and then the carousel stopped, my bag was no where to be found.

After talking to baggage claim, they informed me that my bag was still in Chicago!

HOW??? MY FLIGHT WAS DELAYED FOR TWO FREAKING HOURS!!!!

Since it was 1am, all I wanted to do was go home so I gave the necessary information that was needed to identify my bag and left after being told that it would arrive on the first flight out of Midway that would be landing in New York at 9am.

NOON the next day

No calls about my bag,

No update,

Just silence.

I did what any normal person would do and called the number they gave me. Come to find out, there had been no updates on my bag; Chicago had gone silent on my luggage!!

“Your bag should be landing at 9am”

Liar

“Your bag should be on the next plane”

Liar

“Your bag should be landing at 1pm”

LIAR!!!

 

 

I tweeted about it to Southwest and they actually replied and thanked me for my patience, by this time all my patience had run out and I was now worried that I had to replace all my make up, my shoes, computer and camera cords that were in the now lost bag.

4:17pm

I got a call!!

“Your bag is landing in 20 minutes.”

-____-

I’m happy that they located my bag, but it literally took all day for them to get it to New York, WHY???

Has this ever happened to you?

9 Comments Add yours

  1. rabi80 says:

    From my experience with airlines specially for short flights never check in luggage, only carry on one’s.

    1. jodyleylax says:

      That’s what I normally do except this time

  2. reemkulaib says:

    Your topic is so interesting to read. Actually that happened to me long time ago in my country Saudi Arabia . My sister and I we were so young around 10 and 13 years old. That was the first time for us to travel without my parents just me and her. My dad dropped us at the airport and asked the attendant to take care of us. When we arrived we found our luggage didn’t arrive yet,. We didn’t know what to do , so we just talked to the baggage clime and described our luggage. After two days my mom received a call from the airport to picked up our luggage.

    1. jodyleylax says:

      That’s an awful first time memory, this has been happening for years!! You’d think it would be better.

  3. ghadeeralsh4 says:

    hhhhhhhh;’)) let me tell you about what happened to me. last summer I wend from LA to Orlando with American airlines and it was me, my mom , my two brothers and my sister. when we arrived the bags weren’t there and they said the same that they will be there by tomorrow. The problem was that we were staying there for 5 days and for each day we were planning to go to a different theme park. So the next day we went to Disney with the same cloths we had and guess what it started to rain while we were there!! for sure that day I called 100 times and they didn’t know where were the bags and when we got back to the hotel we found them there!!! but the funny part that they weren’t sure where the bags were! I totally understand what you’ve been throw..

    1. jodyleylax says:

      OMG! That’s terrible that you guys had to wear the same clothes you travelled in, this is just unacceptable from the airport, they really need to change things!

  4. judithdandan says:

    It is a common thing happen to me several times. When I travel to European during this spring break, I carry my luggage all the time because I do not believe they can carry my stuff in a safe way.

    1. jodyleylax says:

      Some of them handle the bag safely but other just throw it around so I understand your concern

  5. kimberlyo1 says:

    Luckily they have never lost my luggage but I had a situation where they broke a new suitcase that I just got. They also handled by things so badly they broke multiple things in the suitcase. It is so annoying that this happens.

Leave a Reply

