What’s for lunch?

Back to school, yes! I love school! So when classes started 5 weeks ago, I was enticed by the words ‘Free Food’ because being a college student again I wanted to partake in all the freeness there was.

The first day of classes, I gave into the enticement and went to an event to partake, but to my disappointment, after waiting around for an hour and a half for the food to show up, what ended up being offered was chicken wings from Dallas BBQ.

Being a pescetarian, this was a huge downer and at this point in time my stomach was about to eat itself so I went off to find something quick before my next class started in thirty minutes.

I grabbed the most convenient thing I could find, which happened to be Halal food from the street cart; the food tasted burnt and I was left so unsatisfied that I vowed to never fall into the trap of ‘free food’ ever again and to only eat food that will not only fill me up but also engage my taste buds.

This vow became a way to survive on Tuesdays. With the help of Yelp I searched for lunch restaurants that were mere walking distance from NYIT Manhattan campus.

The first restaurant I went to was Donburiya an authentic Japanese restaurant, located on 55th and 8th avenue. It met all my requirements.

I ate like a king!

I had the Salmon and shrimp tempura, rice, miso soup and vegetable, my taste buds and stomach were ecstatic!

At that moment of euphoria, the vow evolved; intense taste buds stimulation was now my priority. I wanted to try everything and indulge in my love for food; I wanted to say taste culture.

A quinoa burger from Blossom Du Jour, Indian food from a place called IndiKitch, and a healthier version of Chipotle named Bonmi, are a few of the places that I have visited the past Tuesdays and highly recommend.

The greatest thing about this regime is that all the places I ate were relatively inexpensive! The most money I spent on lunch was $15 and that’s including tip!!

Now the hunt is on, I go out every Tuesday to find something enticing to eat that won’t break the bank.

What about you, what does lunch normally look like for you?

 

Also if you have any suggestions for next Tuesday please share! I want to try everything!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. rabi80 says:

    Thanks for the great tips, needed that so much..keep up the good work

    1. jodyleylax says:

      You’re welcome and thank you!

  2. reemkulaib says:

    thanks for sharing those places. Actually, I everytime when I go with my friends they choose the places but I think ill try the places you mentions.

    1. jodyleylax says:

      Please try them! your taste buds will thank you 🙂

  3. ghadeeralsh4 says:

    There are the underground shops and restaurants next to the school. they are cheap and soooo good.

Leave a Reply

