That was it!

I know some of you ask why I wrote two article in one week, but I really feel I want to share two things at this week with others. You will know a small thing about me that is my challenge to change the idea about Saudi women who are working in the media. However, changing people’s mind is not a piece of cake because it is a hardship to 14291664_1077798669006233_7792422429140920480_nchange all vision about this subject, but I started from my home. Well, I would share with you an achievement to revision my parent’s mind to study media. when I was 19 years old, I did not give my ears to anyone in the home about my studying and I set my hurt on to study media, but my GPA was not high, so, I studied Arabic over one year. After that, I asked my oldest brother to help me to transfer to media department while, he asked my dad about that, and dad said no because he did not think it is a good major to get a job in the future. So, I felt devastated but I persevered because I wanted to go far beyond, as I said before I want to change their mind. I talked with the director of the media department at my university and he assisted me.Finally, after 3 years of studying, I graduated as a journalist with 5 years experiences. I studied and volunteered in newspapers at the same time. Actually, my parents were proud me now and they encouraged me to work after graduation in Makkah newspaper and continue studying in the USA.

Although, I proud of myself because I hear the sound of my heart that told me never listing to anyone want to change your future plan. Now, I found a Saudi Efforts Platform to present my country and change the stereotype. As a result, this platform is reaching out to my government, international journalist and others. It is a noble case. Additionally, I found a Saudi Club at NYIT, NYC ambassador of volunteer and etc. So I reached my goal to change my dad idea about media and he follow me to do what I want for my future.

That was it

11 Comments Add yours

  1. ghadeeralsh4 says:

    You go girl:) so proud of you and I’m here for any help;)

    1. maysarjabr says:

      I know there are my friends with me and I always will be with you

  2. kimberlyo1 says:

    Good Job. It’s always a goog idea to join organizations in qualities that you would like to be a part of.

    1. maysarjabr says:

      Yeah, I love my job

  3. judithdandan says:

    It is a promising start. I also heard some stereotype of your homeland, but when I attended this class for weeks, I gradually changed my vision about that. Everyone have instinct bias which is ones’ boundary, so I looking forward to hear more about your country and you.

    1. maysarjabr says:

      Sounds good I’m happy to hear that. Please join us this Friday to explore Saudi Arabia in our Saudi club opining celebration. We will present Saudi culture by dance, food, short film. Please register her https://www.eventbrite.com/e/saudi-opining-celebration-tickets-32488730668?err=54

      1. judithdandan says:

        I registered this and recommended it to my friends.

  4. jodyleylax says:

    Always stay true to what you want to achieve, if you set your mind to it, no one can stop you from doing it but you! They always comes around eventually so I commend you on staying true to your dreams! Don’t ever change that!

  5. noufabdulla says:

    I’m really proud of you and your job and you know that I will be here beside you when you need any helps.
    I always be at your side.

  6. reemkulaib says:

    I am your friend for a year or more and this is the first time I knew that your patents were mind to study media. Anyway I believe now you change their minds about studying media and show them this is the right major for you.

  7. hajerotb says:

    We all proud of you Maysar. Just keep doing what you love.

Leave a Reply

