Did You Know?

on

 

Arabic Coffee is an old tradition and habit of the Arab people as most people around the world. It’s their favorite beverage on a daily basis. Back in the old days it used to show a lot about people. It gives signs of generosity and hospitality because it was rare and so expensive and the making of it needs special tools. They had to roast it, grind it manually with grind stones and make it on the premises.fullsizerender-4

The main ingredients of the Arabic Coffee are lightly roasted Coffee Beans, Cardamom and Saffron..Sometimes people will add Cloves.

Coffee was discovered back in the 9th century in Ethiopia while a farmer was after his sheep and goats and find out when the animals eat that strange barry they start moving fast and jump all around. Do you know the top 10 countries producing coffee nowadays?

Cardamom is a sweet aromatic spice and is the fruit of a tropical plant related to the ginger family. It is one of the most expensive spices in the world.

Saffron by far the most expensive spice in the world, they call it the red gold. Each flower of saffron only has three stigmas it’s called threads, so if you want a gram of saffron you need about 150 flowers. It has to be picked up by hand very carefully and dried.

So to make Arabic Coffee you need to boil water and add about 2-3 tbsp of lightly roasted ground coffee and let it simmer for about 10 minutes and let it settle for a minute or so then you bring your coffee pot “Dallah” and add about a half of a tbsp of lightly ground cardamom and you add a pinch of saffron, pour the coffee to the pot and let it sit for 2 minutes. after that coffee is served with some dates and sweets in small cups.

13 Comments Add yours

  1. maysarjabr says:

    I enjoy Arabic coffee with my friend and other, and I don’t like to drink it alone. However, do you think Arabic coffee in Saudi Arabia special to make people social and come to gather to drink it ?

  2. rabi80 says:

    I think Arabic Coffee brings the family together to talk in Saudi Arabia,, but people who want to social will find any drink not specifically Arabic coffee. Free food for sure will bring them I think..Lol

  3. kimberlyo1 says:

    It was insightful to learn about the background stories of Arabic Coffee. I am not much of a coffee drinker but I have a lot of friends that are. I am going to have to tell them to try it out.

    1. rabi80 says:

      Thanks, you should try at least once so you can describe it.

  4. reemkulaib says:

    I don not like to drink coffee that much, but when it comes to Arabic coffee definitely yes.

    1. rabi80 says:

      maybe because you are used to it and brings lots of memories..

  5. lonelyfatbeard says:

    I love it , its soothing and perfect for my strong coffee liking. we have a similar kawa in india which is packed with ginger and some other condiments to beat strong winters.

    1. rabi80 says:

      Really didn’t know about that, great next time you can show us how its made..Lol

  6. jodyleylax says:

    I don’t know much about coffee since I don’t drink it but the way that you explained how it’s prepared shows me that Arabians really put their heart into making a pot of coffee unlike Starbucks lol

  7. rabi80 says:

    I totally agree with you about how Arabs know how treat their coffee..Lol

  8. noufabdulla says:

    I didn’t know why I don’t like Arabic Coffee, sometimes I feel bad and embarrassed when all my friends like this kind of coffee except me and because of me they go to Starbucks or Coffee Bean. I will try in one day and maybe I can love it.

  9. ghadeeralsh4 says:

    Arabic coffee is my first option in any gathering:D

  10. rabi80 says:

    For me a cup of black coffee or a double shot of an espresso will be perfect, Arabic coffee comes after that…Lol

Leave a Reply

