when i was kidnapped

I don’t know how many of you have experienced near death experience, but those who have I am sure u can related to my speech today in a much better way. Today’s’ blog is about a tragic – dangerous  day in my life, when I got kidnapped.

The morning of December 8th 2003, began as a routine day in my school life. I was 13 years old and my friend with whom I walked to school had turned 15 that very day. we started from his house towards school and Not far away our cab was force haunted by another car. In a few fast sudden blurry minutes we were forced with a sharp dagger against us to get in the backseat of the other car. (One quick side note if ever u feel u r in danger scream, scream like someone took you favorite candy away. We didn’t scream.)

Soon we were made to take off our eye glasses and asked to hold our head down while a mid 30’s man sat between us with a dagger threading  us to play cool. My dad was a biker and I loved riding with him, thus I could assume my current location as I knew my way around the city. I still wasn’t panicking just making sure I kept track of where I was while constantly praying in my mind.
After about 40 mins the car stopped in a open ground surrounded by under construction buildings. We were left alone with the driver. Soon the man with the dagger returned and pulled me out of the car and started walking me towards one of the rooms in the half constructed building. This is when I panicked and tried to make an attempt to escape, which was reciprocated with a hard blow across my face, and I ended up in a dark room filled with bricks, concrete and no windows, just a door which was locked from outside.
In a while my friend too was brought in and we were left in with the driver. By now I was convinced that I am not going to survive, rather, I knew I was going to die as this was a time when many kids of my age and younger would disappear and despite  ransom being paid they Never returned or were found dead.
The driver who was with us in the dark room was bored, and suggested to play a singing game, Antakshari where he would sing a song and with the word he ended his song I had to sing a song starting with that word. And I complied to his suggestion and carried on singing while my friend looked at me with a crazy look. The kidnapper asked if “We were hungry” I said yes and ordered my last meal , ate it drank some juice and water and was strangely relaxed and was enjoying each lasting moment to the fullest. I even took a NAP that afternoon, while my friend  suggested, it could be because of some drug they added in the juice they got me
Lucky me, i was released in a few hours, after which i made my way back home, and then assisted the cops to locate my friend, who was free by the next day morning. It was one crazy day with many experiences that would stay with me forever.
So what did I learn from this, which in a way made me define myself better. One never panic stay calm breath, your brain will work better and that helps a lot in a “flight-fight” situation  . Two stay faithful , as you focus on hope fear loses by every second, and courage builds up. And three even after your best efforts, if the course of your journey or the unpleasant trail doesn’t change, let go of the  controls, give in to the flow of nature.
My friend and his family didn’t take this incident very well and he gave up regular schooling, and I never saw him again. Well for me, my father started waking up early to drop me to the school, which continued for just next two days, and then he somehow trusted me to take care of myself, and let me fly alone in the dangerous world.
14 Comments Add yours

  1. jodyleylax says:

    WOW!!!!!! First let me say that at 13 you were a brave kid!! I would have panicked and probably died but you kept it cool, remained alert and aware and long enough to lead the cops back to the location you were brought. I wished situations like this never happens but we live in a very unpredictable world and I have to commend you on handling it very well.

    1. lonelyfatbeard says:

      Thanks @jodyleylax , I give all my credit to my parents for let me go in summer military and jungle camps alone for months and may be that’s what helped .

      1. jodyleylax says:

        Summer military camps are a good training, I will send my future children there, they’ll learn skills to survive like you did.

  2. rabi80 says:

    What a brave kid you were, even adults wouldn’t react the same way you did.

    1. lonelyfatbeard says:

      Thanks man and ya i know adults kids nobody should chill with their kidnapper, like I ended up doing , but I don’t it made more sense enjoying what I thought were my last moments.

  3. noufabdulla says:

    OMG!!!!! You are very brave, you should be proud of yourself.

  4. ineskrb says:

    No words, only respect

  5. This is what I mean when I say we can never imagine each other’s lives outside of the room we know each other in. I am totally shocked – speechless. I can’t believe how brave you were. Incredible.

    1. lonelyfatbeard says:

      Just like you once said ” we are , what the room we are in!”

  6. ghadeeralsh4 says:

    You were so brave that you started singing!! Woow:O

    1. lonelyfatbeard says:

      Exactly the cops said I had the coolest victim story even made the local newspaper front page

  7. Jenny Carolina says:

    OMG, that is a CRAZY story. I cant believe you went through that. You were so brave! Did you ever found out why they kidnapped you? Where they asking for money at all? When I used to live in a very remote part of Ecuador, some of the neighbors started this conspiracy to kidnap my sister & I and ask our family for money. Luckily my mom and us managed to escape that town b4 anything happened.

    1. lonelyfatbeard says:

      So apparently they came to kidnap my friend. But we were in school unifrom and both had eye wear so they grabbed us both. My family didn’t even get a ransom call. Although The school got a half day holiday

  8. reemkulaib says:

    You are so brave to be so calm in dangerous situation like this. When I read your singing and eating also took a nap that make me laugh and shocked at that same time. And way I felt sorry for your friend do you know what happened to him?

Leave a Reply

