How Do You Feel??

fullsizerenderI remember the first time I met my friend’s daughter. She’s 18 months old, they came to my apartment. I was excited to see her but not her she cried her eyes out..screaming and yelling at her father. She only wanted to get the heck out of here, so we tried every trick in the book to calm her down. My last effort to calm her was actually bribing her with candy, and it worked finally. She started playing around and we put on one of her favorite songs and started  dancing, that was a good sign for me. She was moving all over the place like a boss.

I realized that as a child, if you are out of your comfort zone and in front of new people or strangers how would you express your feelings? Definitely you’ll cry and cry like a river, they don’t how to say it so they cry its their way to express feelings. It happens to adults too, but without the crying part or maybe sometimes.

I can remember when I had the opportunity to go to Oklahoma City for a training program, and that was my first trip alone. My first trip without family or friends, it was the trip of my life. I was so excited and thrilled, finally I’m free I can do whatever whenever I want. So first day of training came and the first words came out of our teacher’s mouth was: “all of you are happy and excited to be here, moving from your city or country? Wait till 3 months pass and will ask you the same question. Now you are in a shock about the new stuff, then after a while comes the cultural shock. Then comes the home sick, where you feel lonely and desperate.. that’s normal don’t worry everything will be just fine”. Didn’t believe him at the beginning, then the months he mentioned arrived. I won’t lie to you I panicked, I was in a mess.. no more comfort zone it’s me and only me. Thank god that didn’t last for long, friends and class mates helped a lot.

So whenever that happens to you, just remember that with friends and time everything will be just fine..

 

9 Comments Add yours

  1. abaalkhaila says:

    I’m so happy that you are friends now!

    1. rabi80 says:

      well it took a lot of time and effort, and candy too!!

  2. ghadeeralsh4 says:

    I can say that bing alone is the main reason for anyone to feel homesick. when I moved to California I didn’t feel any homesick because I already knew many people but when I moved here from the first day I had this homesick feeling.

  3. rabi80 says:

    That’s true, being alone sucks big time. So by time and making new friends you’ll pass the home sick very soon don’t worry!

  4. jodyleylax says:

    Everyone likes something familiar to be around, whether it’s a place or people. You eventually get used to foreign land and then something great happens, it’s not foreign anymore 🙂

  5. rabi80 says:

    Couldn’t agree more with you, eventually it becomes just like home.

  6. judithdandan says:

    Wow, it is a interesting topic, in terms of the comfort zone, as an adult, we can express our feeling in an appropriate way in which you can feel relax. We need some opportunities to go out of comfort zone that won’t be filled with danger and make us become more stronger. I plan go to Europe next month, maybe that is not so easy for me, but I still thrilled and excited for the potential risky experience.

  7. rabi80 says:

    What I was saying was in general, yes I agree with you..you always need a challenge and a person will only learn from these opportunities. Hope when you come back you tell us all about it.

  8. reemkulaib says:

    I always feel sad when it comes to childrein because they do not know how to express their emotions. Also, you right family and friends always there to support.

Leave a Reply

