Gym Life or No Life

Getting fit has always been a constant issue since I moved to America. I have asked myself why that happens but honestly, I am not too sure. When I was still studying for my Bachelor of Arts degree at Rutgers University-New Brunswick, I met Kaitlyn a very good friend of mine. She was so dedicated to the gym life, I became jealous of that. She spoke to me multiple times of how going to the gym every day made her feel alive. She could be having a horrible day, but as soon as she goes to the gym everything goes away. I could tell that she was saying the truth because she was very fit and toned. After procrastinating for so long summer 2016 I told myself that all I have to make sure I workout at least 3 times a week.

All summer I kept that promise, and luckily I can say that was my most successful summer. I worked out a lot and it even helped me keep my grades up. I felt that I was starting to pay more attention to my body and also things around me. I was doing more reading and waking up early. I was pretty much felt very confident self. This feeling went all through till I traveled to San Francisco with my family and it all went south from there. From going to the gym 4 times a week, I started to go only 2 times a week. By the time fall semester started I only went to the gym twice in two weeks.

Now I am in New York city, all I can see every day is people running, jogging, cycling, and a lot more. I am inspired to start going to the gym again. After I was scammed I feel that I need to start up something to make me feel more confident in myself. I was looking up other reasons to exercise other than weight loss, and I found many interesting answers. There was an article written by Alexa Tucker for Self Magazine. She talks about the 11 amazing reason to work out that have nothing to do with weight loss. My favorite was No 6 where says, “exercise can also help you manage anxiety and depression”. Anxiety and Depression Association of America stated that It has found that daily exercise can help different anxiety disorders like OCD or Panic attacks.

I have started going to the gym, and I am starting to pay more attention to what I eat. I like to go on walks up and down the block. It makes me very energized. I even work out at home when I do not have time to go to the gym. I watch youtube workout videos. I have seen firsthand the result working out does to not just your body but your life as a whole. So go to the gym or just take a run down your street at least twice a week. You would be surprised the positive ripple effect it would manifest in your life.

13 Comments Add yours

  1. reemkulaib says:

    Whers I live now there is a gym , and it has all the equipments. Every week I said to myself I’ll start going this week, but every time I said no not today I’m busy and all that excuses. Until my sis visited me in the winter break , and she was going to the gym almost five days a week. I was going with her too, so that engourge me to start . Especially she gave me a workout and food schedules to reach my goals because she is having worked out for four years. That make it easy to me to stay on track. Now I’m working out five days a week and I really notice the difference in my body .

    1. kimberlyo1 says:

      Yea I think going to the gym with someone always helps to motivate. I know when I used to go with Kaitlyn a lot we pushed each other to do longer planks.

      1. reemkulaib says:

        I hate planks lol. The same thing my sis and I were doing planks and see who remained longer.

  2. noufabdulla says:

    Thank you Kim, you encourage me to go to the GYM. I have many things to do, a lot of homework, but I’ll go even If I go once a week loool

    1. kimberlyo1 says:

      LOL, I feel so honored. No problem, make sure to let me know about the results once you start seeing and feeling them.

  3. maysarjabr says:

    I hope I could get free time to work out.

    1. kimberlyo1 says:

      Haha, me too, with the amount of work I am starting to have I fear it might not be too possible. Also gyms in NY cost so much $44 – $100 for a month, just wow!

  4. ghadeeralsh4 says:

    That’s really good that you went back to the gym again:D I go to the gym 5 to 6 days a week, run for 40 mints and try to lift high wights as much as I can and I can say that this is one of the main reasons why I feel good always!! we should go one day togather:D

    1. kimberlyo1 says:

      That’s nice, we definitely should. What gym do you go to? I am planning on getting a membership at Planet fitness but I have been reading poor reviews.

  5. jodyleylax says:

    Working out does wonders for the body girl! People think it’s only to lose weight but the after workout high is amazing! Unless you work out to the point of throwing up but then that’s just the body getting rid of all the bad things in it lol keep going, you won’t regret it. The hardest thing to do is start!

    1. kimberlyo1 says:

      I completely agree. I always feel so good after I workout. I feel sore at first and I can’t even fully stretch without feeling a pain, but afterward I start to feel amazing. Gym life all the way 🙂

    2. hajerotb says:

      I really agree with you Jody.

      Unfortunately I have no much time for working out, but I may try it at home some days:)

      1. kimberlyo1 says:

        I understand. There are many online home workout videos on youtube that you can check out.

Leave a Reply

