Are you dependent or independent?

Self-reliance is the ability of depending on yourself without any help from others. Also, it is a way to learn many things such as, ‘‘How can you cook?’’ ‘‘How to save money’’? ‘‘How to achieve your target’’? and more. Studying in another country learn you how to be independent person. I did not use to be that person until I came to America. I’m used to be independent person now. For instance, I pay the rent and bills every month, I never spend money on things that are unimportant, I manage my time between school and hanging out with friends. For example, In Saudi Arabia, I don’t know how much my father pay for water or electric, but now I write on the board when should I pay for all of these stuffs and when it is due. One day in winter season in Los Angeles, I forgot to pay for Gaz then they turned off the hot water because Gaz and hot water are connected in the united states. Since that day, I have never forgotten to pay any bills. as a result of this, being someone who has the ability to do anything by himself or herself, It is an amazing feeling because you will see how much can you do and how do you build yourself. Finally, you will be so proud and you will find the value of yourself about that.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. hajerotb says:

    I agree with you Nouf. Studying abroad teaches us a lot of things which absolutely will make us to be independent. From my experience here, I became more independent because I take care of my daughter with out my parents help. When I was in my country I used to leave her with my parents a lot, but now no one can help me except my husband.

    1. noufabdulla says:

      Yes, we should thank america for that 🙂

  2. ghadeeralsh4 says:

    I guess the change of your lifestyle cause you to relay more on your self and this is a good thing. I don’t think you want to be that kind of girls who let people do everything for them:p

    1. noufabdulla says:

      I really like that kind of girls who let people do everything for them Looooool

  3. jodyleylax says:

    Being independent is the most amazing feeling in the world, well for me it is, some people like depending on others and I feel like they’re missing out on the euphoria of self accomplishment. Good job on now keeping on top of all those bills, it took me a while to stop ignoring my student loans lol but with time come knowledge and to me you’re doing great!

    1. noufabdulla says:

      Being independent is so great thing, I can handle many things in this life.

  4. reemkulaib says:

    I strongly agree with you US learned us how to be independent students. To be independent is difficult in the beginning but in the end you will find it an amazing experience.

    1. noufabdulla says:

      Ya It is difficult in the beginning, but then It comes more easily.

Leave a Reply

