Will Trump’s Travel Ban Affect the U.S. economy?

Couple weeks ago, in front of the train station, I met a young lady from Syria. She told me that she had arrived in the U.S. since 3 months ago as a refugee. We talked about the recent travel policy that Donald Trump has made. She said that she was very worried after this new policy, and was thinking about moving to Canada or Europe. Her decision reminds me some articles I have read which talked about increased the number of international students and immigrants who reconsider studying and living in the U.S. after Trump’s travel ban. As a result, Canadian universities and immigration websites have received a lot of applications for both international students and immigrants. Those articles raise a lot of questions in my mind, one of which is, will the U.S. economy be affected if more international students and immigrants moved to live into other countries? I think of course there will be a huge negative impact on the U.S. economy because those students and immigrants are part of the country’s economy. In other words, international students pay tuitions may reach millions of dollars. This big amount of money enough to help the U.S. economy. In addition, immigrants help the country in many ways one of which is they work in jobs that American citizens do not prefer to work on such as working in construction because the salary in this job is low. Finally, I believe that enforcement Trump’s new decisions can affect the country’s economy because the U.S. will lose money and workers.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. ghadeeralsh4 says:

    Actually I agree with you. But I also think that this ban is not gonna last for so long due to all the bad effects that gonna follow it.

  2. lonelyfatbeard says:

    So there is viral message being spread around which asks legal , illegal immigrants and non Americans to not to go to work or open their business this Friday to show trump how the economy will suffer!!! So I think we will get to see a trailer of the Ban

  3. judithdandan says:

    I agree with your perspective that:” I think of course there will be a huge negative impact on the U.S. economy because those students and immigrants are part of the country’s economy.” As a international student, I also worry about my future career plan in U.S, in my mind, a healthy and progressive society should be a comprehensive and generous one firstly.

  4. reemkulaib says:

    I agree with the economy of the US will go if that happened. but I don’t think so many people will leave the country.

Leave a Reply

