Difference | Ways of Celebration Between Two Countries

In these couple of days, we could feel festive atmosphere everywhere in NYC. People here are always willing to express their joyous mood and I could feel their enthusiasm of celebrating festivals. I saw many decorated Christmas tree occurred company with the after heat of Thanksgiving.

I realized that the ways of celebration seemed very different between America and China. I will talk about this topic as follows.

In China, people are always prefer to go back home and enjoy a fancy dinner with all theimg_1913 family members together. Especially when the Spring Festival comes, no matter how difficult to buy a plane or train ticket, and how long the way back home, people still willing to go back their hometown at that time.

There are many kinds of family reunion dinners welcomed by a whole family, such as hotpot and noodles. People enjoy the feeling of sitting around a table and chat together.

When I came here, I saw many different ways of celebration in NYC. I have to say that parade attracts me the most. I watched the Veterans Day Parade and Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade that I have never joined before. When I saw all the enthusiastic paraders and audience, I was really affected by their smile and hurrah.

In a small collectives, such as a class or a community, people choose a dinner party to celebrate festivals. They usually reserve a place and a certain time, everyone brings a kind food and then they will enjoy all the food and have a party time together.

img_5554

No matter how different the ways are, the emotion of celebration is the same all over the world I think. When a festival comes, we could find a reason to relax ourselves and care more about our family members and friends, and then go on our daily life with a new state of mind after a holiday, maybe that is why people are always high on celebration.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. qzhang16 says:

    Yes, different culture has different way to celebrate the festival,your artical reminds me of my memory. Thank you for sharing

    1. catherineqiu0408 says:

      It is really a great chance for us to learn a different culture here~

  2. Wennie says:

    lol, really different and for Australia also, i used to spent my thanksgiving and Christmas in Australia, always hot summer in there lol…

    1. catherineqiu0408 says:

      Haha, it sounds a little bit strange to celebrate these 2 festivals in summer!

      1. Wennie says:

        very weird lmao!

  3. breeze_lipigarn says:

    Yes, so true

    1. catherineqiu0408 says:

      It must be many different ways of celebration in your hometown too~

  4. Shushu says:

    Actually, I really miss the festival dinner in China.

    1. catherineqiu0408 says:

      It is Okay~we could also enjoy ourselves here!

Leave a Reply

