It’s Never “Just A Sneaker”

To say that my love for sneakers runs deep is an understatement! I have been in love with sneakers since I was 8 years old. The problem was, my parents never bought me expensive sneakers and that really bothered me due to the fact both of my parents worked and my father was a Command Sergeant Major in the United States Army. When I was 9 years old I was sent to stay with my Uncle & Aunt in Alabama. My awareness of style changed the day I got there because I acquired a lot of my cousins hand me down clothes that looked WAY better than the bull shit my parents would buy me.

Photo Cred: J Williams

Do you own something that means more to you than monetary value? One purchase that will always stand out in my memory was when my Aunt Terrie nonchalantly called me into the living room and handed me a Nike box containing a pair of black and red Air Jordan’s which are famously known as the sneakers that brought Michael Jordan his first NBA Championship. I was in love with these sneakers at first site! I cherished them so much because they were my first Jordan sneaker ever. Ten years laters they re-released but I wasn’t able to purchase them at the time but in 2009 I purchased two pairs and they represent my Aunt Terrie and Uncle George who are no longer with us right now.

Photo Cred: J Williams

November 13, 2014 my Aunt and Uncles sons were allegedly killed and then burned in a house fire. The following Black Friday I was at Modell’s on crutches because I suffered Β a double ankle injury the night before; (from the hospital to the sneaker store) picking up the the same Air Jordan silhouette and also having my one time footlocker connection holding another pair for me.

Photo Cred: J. Williams

So I had four pairs to represent my Aunt Terrie, Uncle George, and my two slain cousins. Read this ARTICLE and you might seeΒ why I sold one of them to the cousin who got me the gold Air Jordan 6’s last week. Β Why do I love 6s??? because they symbolize much more than just sneakers to me.

“Isn’t it crazy how my pose is still the same?!?”

Photo Cred: J Williams

 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. xmei01 says:

    Behind every pair of shoes has a story.So, I understand your love for the gold Air Jordan 6’s reason.

    1. Mr. Orchard Beach says:

      This sneaker will always be special to me! 🌊🌊🌊

  2. rrsn says:

    Family affair… btw, the cover picture is really really cute haha

    1. Mr. Orchard Beach says:

      Thank you! It’s crazy because I just noticed that my pose has been the same after all these years! πŸ˜‚πŸŒŠπŸŒŠπŸ˜‚

  3. Wennie says:

    Sad to see your uncle family story, i understand why you so full in love with sneakers. Sometimes i admire you have sth pursue badly in your life, good to see you use your love to cherish them, to remain in heart.

    1. Mr. Orchard Beach says:

      Thank you! 🌊🌊🌊

  4. catherineqiu0408 says:

    Your article could totally explain everything~ It is really understandable and I think almost everyone owns a special item with special feeling.

    1. Mr. Orchard Beach says:

      Thank you! πŸŒŠπŸ’―πŸ’―πŸŒŠ

  5. dlibrizzo says:

    I really appreciate reading your story. I see why you love your sneakers so much.

    1. Mr. Orchard Beach says:

      Thank you so much! 🌊🌊🌊

Leave a Reply

