Spring Culture Festival

Time goes by really fast. Another year is over. I want to talk about the spring culture festival.

As Chinese people know, the spring festival, is an ancient festival in China, but also one of the most important festivals throughout the year to celebrate. In the thousands of years of history, this festival has formed some of the relatively fixed customs and remain alive today.

When I was a child in my hometown, whenever the spring festival was coming, my mother would ask me to help our family cleaned house, in order to sweep away the bad things of the past year. When I was young, I did not understand that why do my parents  do these things, but I just did what they want me to do with a happy mood, and looked forward to the arrival of the spring festival. As I grew older, I gradually began to understand. This custom shows that Chinese people want to start a new environment.

Another important thing is the spring festival couplet, and Chinese people would like to put up some happiness sentence on the door. My mother told me that the spring festival couplet is use concise words to express good wishes.

Thirdly,with the new year approaching, the third thing is set off fireworks outside of the house by every family. Father told me, “It means ring out the old year and ring in the new year with fireworks. ” My parents said that when I was young, I would like to go to the housetop to watching fireworks, and like a boy was always clamoring to shoot off fireworks by myself. Now at new year’s time, I climb to the top of the mountain in my hometown with my parents, waiting for the new year’s bell to ring, and the fireworks throughout the small hometown.

At last, the night before Chinese new year is called reunion night. People travel enormous distances just to be home with their families for the happiest and most important spring festival, and the whole family sit together to make dumplings a Chinese traditional food made by flour. My mother said that dumplings symbolize reunion, and have a  wealth of auspicious meanings. As a child, the dumplings made by grandma were the best to eat. Because grandma always put a lot of seafood in the dumplings, it was my favorite flavor. I also learned how to boil the dumplings, but due to the fact that I was too young, I did not know the skill of boil dumplings. My grandma would secretly hide a coin in one of the dumplings. If someone ate dumplings with the coin in it, it meant that the new year would more lucky. After dinner is the most happy moment, because children will got some red packets which contain money as a gift.

As I get older, I recall childhood my mother taught me the spring festival customs. That is very interesting and there are many beautiful memories. But now I worry about parents who are getting older and older. I hope to spend  more time to accompany with them.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Wennie says:

    This year, we gonna spend spring festival together in nyc, Q^Q

    1. fancy1201 says:

      Definitely.

  2. moni0626 says:

    Thank you for sharing with us a little part of your culture. It sounds a very fun and important celebration in the Chinese culture!

  3. qzhang16 says:

    How familiar festival! we could celebrite it in NY and feel different memory.

Leave a Reply

