Fall Outfit and A Trip to Wilkens Farm

img_2987_edited

I Fall in love of autumn every October with the first breeze that blows over the trees and with those earthy colors that adorned the season.

Since I moved to New York, I have to say that fall is my favorite season of the year. Fall is that “sweater weather” season when the tree leaves transition into wonderful colors. When the delicious pumpkin and cinnamon flavors appear in almost everything. And when I try to enjoy from nature the most!

This past weekend was a little more chilly compared to that crazy warm week we had in New York. I was very happy to wear my boots, sweater, and jacket again! Last Sunday, my friends and I went to the Wilkens Fruits & Fir Farm to do some apple picking (my first apple picking…FINALLY!)

img_3043_edited The Wilkens Fruits & Fir Farm is located in Yorktown Heights New York (It is an hour away driving from the city). I really enjoyed driving up there because of the beautiful landscapes and the fresh air. The farm offers different little activities, from playground for kids to wine tasting for adults.

Once we got there, we decided to first enjoy a good glass of wine to “warm” ourselves up.

img_2966_edited

img_2962_edited

After we enjoyed a delicious wine, we went to do our apple picking! I love apples, and during our apple picking I realized that my favorite kind of apple is the Honey Crisp (Honestly I didn’t know how many kind of apples exist…for more farm options click here)

img_2969_edited

img_2975_edited

img_2978_edited

My fall outfit pick for this trip was casual but classy at the same time. The pieces I wore were: My new poncho from Century 21, as well as my new black turtleneck from Zara, blue jeans from H&M, black leather jacket from H&M, and black boots from Aldo.

If you have seen my recent blog post Fall Fashion Wishlist 2016, you might notice that I finally got the grey poncho I was looking for…I have to say that I really love it!

img_3013_edited

After we finished our apple picking, we headed to the pumpkin field!

img_2992_edited

I really wanted to bring a pumpkin home, but unfortunately I didn’t find the one I really liked. So we decided to just hang out and take some pictures. However, Rocky (our little friend) was the one who enjoyed the most over the field.

 Rocky is a 2 year old Yorkie Maltese. He is adorable and had the best time ever running around and being petted by kids.

img_2989_edited

img_3005_edited

img_3010_edited

img_3040_edited

Photos by Vive Brunette

And of course, I couldn’t leave the farm without the iconic picture on the old tractor…It was such a fun and adorable experience, that I would definitely try to repeat it next year (Probably exploring a new farm upstate NY).

I hope you guys enjoyed my little experience/tour over the Wilkens Farm. If you have any questions about it please let me know!

Have you been apple picking somewhere else in New York? I would like to know about other places as well!

I hope all of you have a great rest of the week and remember to keep on with your personal style!

Chao Chao

Monica V.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. gwang12 says:

    Wow..the farm lookes like interesting. Thank you for your sharing. I would like to apple picking

    1. moni0626 says:

      Hi…You are very welcome. It was a very nice trip. you should go, it is a nice experience 🙂

  2. Wennie says:

    This place is so cute!lol😍😍😍 good one to do photography

    1. moni0626 says:

      Indeed it is! very nice to hangout with friends and take some picture 🙂

  3. catherineqiu0408 says:

    I could almost feel the cheer of harvest! So nice rurality~~

    1. moni0626 says:

      It is really nice to be in touch with the rural side of New York…Getting out of the city and Enjoying some Nature once and a while is the best!

  4. qzhang16 says:

    Fall is my favorite season too, I think it is a harvest season, Nature air is really fresh.Thank you.

    1. moni0626 says:

      I love fresh air! I feel it frees my mind and it inspires me a lot!

  5. dlibrizzo says:

    I love the fall, pumpkin and apple picking is my favorite thing to do during October.
    You are such a fashionista! lol I love the poncho great choice they are so comfortable

    1. moni0626 says:

      Thank you! I love fall as well…and I’m very happy I finally enjoyed from this experience after being in NY for 4 years! and thank you for the compliment…ponchos are very comfortable and cozy indeed! perfect for this season 🙂 have a great day!

Leave a Reply

