Upstate New York

One of my favorite places to visit is beautiful upstate New York. Upstate New York has a completely different atmosphere compared to Manhattan and the suburbs of NYC. This weekend I went up to Syracuse, which is about a 4-hour drive from Long Island! Syracuse is about an hour away from Canada. My boyfriend grew up here, his parents live in a beautiful house right on the lake. Driving around there is so many trees and hills. In this season especially all the trees began to change colors, full of oranges, yellows, reds, browns. It’s so beautiful. I’ve included some pictures I took this weekend.  The feature photo is from the deck of the house, looking at the trees surrounding the lake.

Syracuse, New York
Syracuse, New York
Syracuse, New York
Syracuse, New York

We went apple picking, took a hike, cooked ourselves meals that we can enjoy looking out at the lake. I really love apple picking, it’s my favorite fall activity. We went to one of the best apple picking orchards in upstate New York called Beak & Skiff.  After picking our own apples to bring home I enjoyed some nice apple cider donuts (my favorite!!!) along with some regular apple cider, and some apple wines the farm created. This wine had no grapes used in the process, just apples! It was delicious. But my love for the fall season doesn’t stop with apples… My boyfriend’s mom created a marble pumpkin cheesecake with an oatmeal and walnut crust…. WOW. I’ve included a picture of the cake as well. It was absolutely incredible.

Pumpkin Cheesecake
Pumpkin Cheesecake

I love pumpkin almost as much as I love apples, I love how much these two fruits are incorporated into the fall season. I uploaded the picture of the cake to my Instagram, which you can find here. 🙂 Upstate life moves much slower than downstate life, it’s very quiet and isolated up here. It’s a nice place to visit for a quiet, relaxing, getaway vacation. Right now as I type this post I am sitting around, cozy by a fire.  We all need these types of vacations sometimes 🙂

8 Comments Add yours

  1. fancy1201 says:

    wow… so nice place, I think I wanna be here to look around and the food loos so delicious, I will try! lolllllll…….

  2. qzhang16 says:

    It looks wonderful! I really enjoy going sightseeing and going hiking, but due to I am not familiar with New york now ,I do not know where i could go ,Next time, if have another chance, could take me together?

  3. xmei01 says:

    This is really a pleasant place. Pumpkin cake looks delicious.

  4. catherineqiu0408 says:

    Deep autumn is really a suitable season for traveling because of yellow leaves and the comfortable temperature~

  5. dlibrizzo says:

    I love the fall time! Going pumpkin and apple picking is the best time of year 🙂

  6. Wennie says:

    live in long island is more convenient to touch these beautiful nature place, i wish i could go on hoilday

  7. onesdaily says:

    Never be drawn the color of nature views

  8. wow, it’s really nice viewing. I want to go there and enjoy a visual feast,LOL

Leave a Reply

