The 33rd Annual Oyster Festival in Long Island

Every fall, the town of Oyster Bay in Long Island has their annual Oyster Festival! The event offers may fun activities for families and people of all ages. Live entertainment, unique vendor shops and food carts are part of the oyster festival that everyone enjoys.

Long Island has tons of history behind it. According to theoysterfestival.org, the Oyster Festival is a historic event that was created to honor the memory of Theodore Roosevelt, the 26th president of the United States. Theodore Roosevelt was born in Oyster Bay from a wealthy family.  To celebrate his birthday, the community organized a parade. The parade was such a success that they wanted to hold one every year. They named this event the Oyster Festival in memory of Theodore Roosevelt! This year, in 2016, the town of Oyster Bay will be celebrating the 33rd annual Oyster Festival.

Besides all the family fun, the Oyster Festival is a great social event for people in their young twenties to gather around at several bars and restaurants. People from all over Long Island attend this event. Depending on where you are at the festival, you could be chowing down on great food with your family, or begin a fun day of day drinking with friends and dancing to music. One of my favorite parts at these events are the unique vendor shopping court! I love looking through hand made items, such as jewelry, hats, scarves, and other accessories. These are one of a kind items that are irreplaceable! No big company can make something exactly like these items. 🙂

Ironically enough I am not crazy about oysters, I don’t think I will have a single oyster the entire festival! Which is okay with me, I’ll replace them with a nice pumpkin brew ;). A big group of my girl friends and I will be attending the event tomorrow afternoon. If anyone is around the area or wants something fun and different to do, I recommend attending! Click here to read more about the Oyster Festival 🙂

The festival is free admission. Lucky enough for me and my friends, we are taking the Long Island Railroad from our town to Oyster Bay, which is only a five minute train ride for us. 🙂 The featured image that I chose is from the Oyster Festivals website: http://theoysterfestival.org/.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. xmei01 says:

    This activity is great. I like to eat oysters.

  2. Wennie says:

    This looks great!!! Im going to Williamsburg smorgasburg today, would be fun as well.

  3. onesdaily says:

    I plan to go there tomorrow,haha,

  4. Mr. Orchard Beach says:

    WHY AM I JUST HEARING ABOUT THIS??? I LOVE OYSTERS!!! I bet they have some good Bloody Mary’s out there to pre-game with as well!

  5. catherineqiu0408 says:

    Haha, you must be a spokeswoman of Long Island!

  6. qzhang16 says:

    It sounds pretty good! you have a colorful life and I really look forward to going Long Island one day!

  7. moni0626 says:

    It is very interesting to know what is going on in different places around NY. I’m always looking for new experiences so I really appreciate you share this with us.

  8. dlibrizzo says:

    I love this festival! I did not get to go this year but love all the music, good food and attractions they always have.

Leave a Reply

