Are you a dog lover?

Are you a dog lover? Do you find yourself wanting to pet or hold every one that walks by you in the street?  I find that dogs give me a sense of security, and a form of therapy that brings a feeling of warmth and comfort. I decided I wanted to share my love for my own dog, Ellie by using the powerhouse of social media, known as Instagram. I felt like creating a profile would help to establish fame and recognition for her adorable features. img_0164

I have a Malshipoo dog named Ellie that has a love for toys, playing fetch, going for long walks and sleeping in a queen size bed. I was hoping her overload of cuteness would create her followers to fall in love with her champagne colored fur and admirable poses.

I came up with the idea to socially promote her after researching how many animals are widely liked and followed by on many media platforms. Instagram in particular has a growing amount of animal users because their main focus is photos.

Ellie’s Instagram page was created 6 months ago, but the goal to succeed soon failed. I realized that when posting photos, the most important factor are the hashtags that are written in the comment area. If you include popular and highly followed hashtags, you are more likely to get the outcome of likes and followers you are looking for.

img_2767Animals have been creating a name for themselves over the last 5 years, for example Boo, Jiff, GrumpyCat and Munchkin. They all have started their own branding of books, t-shirts, and media appearances. My mission was to see how hard or easy it is to compete with all these other talented and adorable animals. I have learned that consistency is key to making any Instagram work. Your followers look forward to your posts and want to continue following another user if there is something that can hold their interest.

I posted photos of Ellie each day and used trending hashtags making sure my settings were on a public viewing profile. I only gained about 5 more followers but did gain a lot more “likes” than my previous photos. I would hope that if I continued this process that I would be more successful.

Social media has opened many opportunities and ways to for people and animals to connect all over the world. Have you ever tried to create a social media celebrity? Have any luck?

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. rrsn says:

    Your dog looks really cute!!
    I think that relationships between humans and animals are amazingly beautiful!
    I love the idea of creating an Instagram account for Ellie, made me thing about the funny Instagram of Neville, Marc Jacobs dog… You will like it I think !! 🙂 https://www.instagram.com/nevillejacobs/?hl=fr

  2. Wennie says:

    I like the way u dressed her up, lol ❤️

  3. kerrzbo says:

    I actually made a Facebook for my dog Sunny a couple years ago 😛 my mom, sister and I would log on at different times to post funny statuses and pictures pretending to be Sunny! It was too funny. Our family and friends loved it. I also interned with Animal League America in the spring and had to constantly promote their animals. Hashtags are definitely a must!

  4. Shushu says:

    It is so cute! I want to have a dog all the time, but my parents against me. That is unfortunately…

  5. dlibrizzo says:

    Yes, the Marc Jacobs dog is very adorable too!

Leave a Reply

