The roommate life

Moving to New-York City means, for an important majority of student, to find a shared apartment, because of the really expensive rents in the Big Apple.
It is always a difficult step in moving to the City, most of rents are requiring an important lease or a guarantor, which is not financially possible for a student. Hopefully, there are several website specialized in finding a roommate, as Spare Room and Easy Roommate, in which you can choose your favorite district, or specific criteria as the number of roommates, the minimum and maximum rent…
Once the apartment is founded, you have to get use to live with unknown people, with other ways of living, which is not always easy.

Personally, I live with five roommates, in a two bathrooms apartment. The most ironic thing is that ALL of my roommates are french… Which is really not the best to improve my english, but let’s say that is culturally easier to adapt…
To my opinion,  living with other people in a shared apartment is a real human being experience. It learns to adapt to others, to other way of living, to be less selfish and more respectful. The notion of respect is the most important thing in a roommate life. If every roommate is respectful with other, it can be an amazing experience, if only one of them isn’t, it can became the worst experience ever.
I feel lucky to have great roommates, who became friends, we are spending a lot of time together and this is an experience that I will never forget.

What about you? Did you experienced the roommates life? Did some of you had a bad or great experience? I’d love to hear from your experiences!

If, unfortunately, some of you are having troubles with this, I found a interesting blog article about how to handle it on Rent website! Hope it can help!

8 Comments Add yours

  1. onesdaily says:

    What a charming smile!

    1. rrsn says:

      Thank you, that’s really nice!

  2. moni0626 says:

    I have never live with roommates but I can imagine how fun and at the same time challenging must be. I have lived with American families and fortunately I have had very good experiences with them. As you said, respect is one of the most important things to have a good relationship with the people you live with!

  3. catherineqiu0408 says:

    I’m also living with my roommates now in NYC, and roommates are really a part of my new life. I believe this experience will be our unforgetable memory when we leave here.

  4. sn6325 says:

    Beautiful picture you got here. Thank you for your piece of advice. Foreigners like us really need a few tips in order to have the easiest life around NY. I’ll remember those website. Thank you 😉

  5. Shushu says:

    I living with my roommates too. They are my friend and classmates, in addition, we know each other 1 years ago that is so lucky. We always shopping together, watching film together and doing homework together. I think it will be a happy part in my memory!

  6. thank you for sharing and giving tips to foreigners like us, it is an important part of experience in life no matter which good or bad. let us fighting, life is colourful and varied in postures.

  7. rrsn says:

    Really nice to see that most of you are living this great experience too! Thank you for your comments!

Leave a Reply

