Bohemian Lifestyle

Have any of you ever heard of the term Boho? I’ve seen plenty of people using the word Boho in regards to fashion in the past year. This week I was searching online for a new duvet cover, I am very into Mandala artwork (a geometric figure representing the universe in Hindu and Buddhist symbolism). I actually have a Mandala lotus flower tattoo on the middle of my back. Anyhow, getting back to the term Boho. While I was searching for bed comforters I fell in love with the ones titled Boho Duvet Cover. I was aware of the word before this past week, but it wasn’t until this past week that I wanted to understand what Boho actually meant.

Boho is short for Bohemian. According to Google, Bohemianism is the practice of an unconventional lifestyle, often in the company of like-minded people, with few permanent ties, involving musical, artistic, or literary pursuits. After reading this definition, I came across other definitions from Urban Dictionary. For those of you who don’t know, Urban Dictionary is a veritable cornucopia of streetwise lingo, posted and defined by its readers (defined by Urban Dictionary itself). I have found Urban Dictionary to be very useful in the past. If any of you want to know the definition of slang words, definitely check out Urban Dictionary!

After reading the definition of Bohemian and Boho Chic on Urban Dictionary, I understood that: Bohemians are people who lead an alternative lifestyle. They are not hippies because they can have an extremely wide range of different tastes in music, fashion, art, and literature. They are usually very creative people and are above all optimists. “Boho Chic” is tied to the vintage phenomenon in fashion where the trend was to bring back vintage styles for the modern era. Boho chic combines organic, colorful, detailed, folk-inspired pieces with simple, modern pieces.

After reading these definitions, I realized that I could consider myself a bohemian chic. I am extremely into this type of music, art, and fashion. I live an artistic lifestyle, placing freedom of self-expression above all other desires. This includes wealth, social conformity and status. Click here to read more information.
I feel that I deeply relate to this type of lifestyle. 🙂

I’m including a picture of my new Boho duvet cover I ordered online. I am absolutely in love with it. For those who are a fan of this artistic style, search mandala or bohemian on Google! See what types of artwork come up. 🙂

fullsizerender-1-copy

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Wennie says:

    Oh, the Dreamcatcher!!! !

  2. catherineqiu0408 says:

    Thank you for introducing me a new term”Boho”, and I’ve seen some pattern and decorative design just like your picture shows, so I could say”this is Bohemian lifestyle” to others when I see them next time!

  3. xmei01 says:

    Bohemian Lifestyle, there is a sense of the ocean. Such a decoration, can bring a good mood.

Leave a Reply

