For the makeup lovers!

on

I was asked to write about my makeup routine, I hope you ladies enjoy my few tips!

The first tip to a flawless face BEAT is to always follow a great skin care routine. Find a face cleanser, scrub, and toner that works great with your skin. I personally switched up my skin care routine and am currently using Biore Deep Pore Charcoal Cleanser combined with Biore Pore Unclogging Scrub. Great products! I also like to do a face mask at least once a week. I use TruSelf Organics Detoxifying Mask. For a toner, I use a mixture of organic apple cider vinegar and water. And moisturize, moisturize, moisturize. Last but not least on skin care, when the day is over PLEASE REMEMBER to wash off your makeup. Sleeping with makeup clogs your pores and is an easy way to break out. Now on to the makeup 🙂

After I moisturize my face I like to do a little prep and prime.

Primers: MAC’s Prep and Prime Fix Plus spray, accompanied with Benefit Cosmetics: The POREfessional Face Primer (Sephora). If you have excessively oily skin, another primer I use from time to time is Milk of Magnesia – found at any drugstore like CVS, Walgreens, etc..

After priming, I start with my eyebrows. I like to comb my brows with a spooli to make sure all the hairs are in place, then I use Anastasia Beverly Hills Dipbrow in the color dark brown (Sephora). After I get my desired brows, I clean them up with my Revlon Colorstay photoready concealer. (Drugstore).

Next, I move on to my eyes. I prime with concealer. For a nice simple everyday look, I use neutral colors. For my eyeshadow application, I start with the crease then build up color on my lid. After I have all the colors of my choice I blend until I get my desired look. (Eyeshadows vary from Coastal Scents, MAC, and Colour Pop). I finish with a nice winged eyeliner. My eyeliner of choice is Maybelline’s Gel Eyeline.(Drugstore)

After my completed eye makeup, I like to color correct any dark spots on my face with LA Girl ProConcealer in the orange corrector. – found at any beauty supply store. After it is blended into my skin, I now apply my foundation. I use 2 foundations to achieve my perfect color. Revlon Colorstay foundation in the color Caramel, and Maybelline FitMe in Cappuccino. – found in drugstore. I then blend the foundation with my Sephora Beauty Blender. Make sure your foundation is even on your face.

Next, I highlight with LA Girl ProConcealer in the color medium beige. I use a little under my eye, on the bridge of my nose, middle of my forehead, above my lips, on my chin, and my lower cheek. These are all the areas I like to brighten. Dab the concealer into your face with a damp beauty blender. I then put my setting powder which is Sacha Buttercup Setting Powder on the areas I highlighted. And I BAKE for about 5-10 mins! While I am baking I use a darker concealer to contour my cheeks, top of my forehead, sides of my nose, and my jawline.

After I bake, I dust of the powder and use a buffer brush, to buff in all the product on my face. Next I use my MAC Mineralize Skin Finish powder that is my complexion to bring everything together. After that I put on a little blush, and shimmer (MAC Gold Deposit) on top of my highlighted areas. Then I go back to my eyes, to put mascara on. Thrown on some lipstick.  Lastly I finish with my Fix Plus spray. And viola – a BEAT FACE!!

I know this may seem like a lot, but once you get the hang of it, it goes by quickly.

The most annoying part of this process is eyebrows. Always remember eyebrows are sisters not twins!

be6fba52-706e-474d-bbbf-385a1bb2d8d0

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Samantha says:

    I loved this article. Thank you for writing!!! It’s great that you mentioned the problems caused by going to bed with makeup on. Sometimes (especially after a long night out) I’ll get really lazy and sleep with my makeup. I think that explains why lately I’ve been breaking out more than I ever have in my life. I need to save some money so I can invest in the products you mentioned. I really LOVE makeup, I’ve just never had the artistic eye for it – and definitely not the technique! But after reading this, I definitely need to give it a try.

Leave a Reply

