Review of Kimmy Schmidt

proxy

If you’ve seen the Kimmy Schmidt show on Netflix, then you know how hilarious it is. The first season delivered a lot of one liners that had me rolling on the floor with laughter. Kimmy Schmidt, the main character, was kidnapped as a teenager and spent 15 years in an underground bunker with three other women . When the women were found, they were released into the world and Kimmy decided to stay in New York.

The first season was a lot of quick, quirky lines and it centered on Kimmy’s adjustment to the city. Her roommate Titus, her job with Manhattan’s richest people, and the birth of her love life made the show binge worthy. I remember watching the whole season in about 5-6 hours on a Saturday night after fracturing my foot. The show was praised for its humor and for its touch on social justice and kidnapping.

However, the second season left a lot to be desired for. The characters were deeper developed but the story lost a lot of its witty humor that I fell in love with. I love fast comedy, the one that leaves you on the floor and makes you think. Witty humor is the best and unfortunately season 2 lost that. New characters are introduced and lack screen presence. Although quirky, the characters are not as nearly as dynamic as Titus or Kimmy.

The second season however is a lot more deeper. We get to know more about characters such as Titus, who gains a love life, and the Native American heritage of Jacqueline. I do appreciate that we get to know the characters beyond the humor. The new season has 13 episodes and I recommend for people to watch the first season to really understand what is going on.

Have you seen the new season and did you like/not like it? let me know below.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Samantha says:

    Can this be watched on Hulu? I’m thinking of getting a Hulu subscription and if so, I want to binge watch this. The advertising for this is on point!

  2. 4theloveofshooz says:

    I think I may binge watch this next weekend. I heard a lot of great reviews on this show.

  3. Oh no! I loved the first season and have been looking forward to the new one. I hope they’re able to find some middle ground between outrageous and developing the characters and cast.

Leave a Reply

