Review on the Kylie Jenner Lip Kit

Unless you’ve been living under a rock for the past few months, it is safe to assume that you have at least heard of the Kylie Jenner Lip Kits. These tiny little lipsticks have been selling out in the matter of minutes and making Miss Jenner a fortune. I am admittedly a fan of the Kardashian/Jenners (though I can’t really explain why) and for that reason (mixed with plain ol’ curiosity) I had to see what all the buzz was about and what made this lipstick so much better than anything else out there.

I ordered Dolce K and 22 to start. Dolce K was my first pick because I love mauve-y looks and the subtle sophistication of the shade. My second pick was going to be True Brown K because I’ve recently really gotten into brown lips but haven’t been able to find a perfect matte brown that doesn’t have any shine, doesn’t fade or doesn’t start to look like another color. To my dismay, True Brown K was not up for restock on the day I ordered, so I decided to try 22 instead. 22 is the latest release and I got it the first day it was available for the public. It is a burnt orange shade and I went for that rather than the other colors that were available because it isn’t a color that I (and I would argue a lot of people) own a lot of. Pinks and nudes are very common, so I figured I would go orange instead. Plus, the only orange I do own is super bright and super shiny, so I wanted to try something more matte and subtle.

The lipkit came in a pretty box which included a hand-written letter from Kylie. I’ll pretend I’m not smart enough to know that Kylie didn’t personally write the letter for me, just for the sake of feeling special. The box alone got me really excited.20160310_143648

The first thing you notice about the lipstick is the smell. Each kit has a sweet smell of cupcake frosting that is so strong it makes you want to eat the lipstick (or is that just me?) If you can resist the urge to eat your lipstick, you’ll notice that the colors are beautiful! Keep in mind, Dolce K is a color that looks different on everyone. I’ve seen pictures of girls with Dolce K where the color looks brown, and then I’ve seen pictures where Dolce looks more pink. It depends on the color of your lips naturally. For me, the color is a mauve that favors more of a brown look than a pink look, but not a super dark shade of brown.  With 22, what you see is what you get. The color is a perfectly burnt orange. Not too bright, but definitely noticeable. It makes a statement.10424015_1023371221068500_1353963768_o

Each kit comes with a lip liner. The best way to apply is to trace the outline of your lips with the liner first and then color your lips in with the liquid lipstick. You’ll notice that the lipstick is soft and creamy which allows for it to glide on your lips seamlessly. I’ve tried many matte sticks that feel clumpy and dry when you put it on, but this one feels more like Vaseline and then dries after a minute or two.

Good pointer: Practice makes perfect! Sometimes lining your lips isn’t as easy as it seems and coloring them in can be a hassle as well if you don’t apply evenly. Because the lipstick dries so fast, there is little room for error so if you’re planning on wearing this for a night out, I would do some practice rounds before putting on your final look for the night.

Also, the main selling point for this product which was supposed to be the real reason why it is better than anything on the market is that it is supposed to keep your lips feeling moisturized, which is uncommon for matte sticks. While the lipstick does feel creamy at first, I will admit that after some time it does start to feel dry. Dolce K is especially more dry than 22, though I did have my issue with 22 as well. It honestly depends on the day. I’ve worn both shades more than once and I’ve had good and bad experiences (in terms of dryness) with each color. I would suggest applying clear chapstick or Vaseline before applying the lipstick. Make sure your lips are moisturized!!! But what I would NOT suggest is to apply chapstick or Vaseline after you already have the lipstick on. I tried it and it made my lips super clumpy and chapped. Gross!

Each kit is $29 which sounds like a lot but it is reasonable considering it includes a lip liner. If you go to any makeup store, you’ll probably pay the same amount for both products. The only thing that sucks is that you have to wait for it to come in the mail which typically takes about 8 or 9 days.

I am currently waiting on True Brown K and Mary Jo K to arrive in the mail, so I am excited to see how those shades look. I think these kits are addicting; once you have one, you just want to have them all! However, I am a college student on a budget, so rather than buy the other 3 (Candy K, Koko K and Posie K) I decided to try out some ColourPop lipsticks. They cost $6 each and I picked shades that are supposed to be dupes of the shades I don’t have from the Kylie collection. I’ll review those once they arrive.

All in all, I would suggest these lip kits. I would also suggest buying in moderation like I did. See if you like one or two shades, and if so, buy more. The last thing you want to do is pay $200 and not like the product! Also keep in mind they are super hard to get a hold of. If you’re interested, download the Kylie Jenner app because that is where she announces her release dates. The app is free. Do not subscribe!! So many people get tricked into paying for a subscription but you do not need to subscribe in order to see her release dates. Just download the app and enjoy. But if she announces that they’ll be available at 6:00pm, you should be on the website by 5:55pm because it sells out that fast. The site also crashes a lot! Are you interested? Let me know what you think!

8 Comments Add yours

  1. hernandezmonica says:

    Thank you for your review. I love lipsticks and I am always on the hunt for a new collection. I have been using a matte lipstick called LA Girl (I think) for $5 a pop. It’s good, not the best quality, but I love the colors and how affordable they are. I do know that in order to have good quality lipsticks, I need to pay more.

    However, I don’t think I would buy these lipsticks, not because they’re not cute or are of good quality, but simply for the reason that I refuse to put any more money in the pockets of that family.

    1. Samantha says:

      I have to look into LA Girl, especially now that I’m having a problem with my ColourPop purchase.

  2. mslolaaaa says:

    Great review on the lipsticks. I personally wouldn’t buy the kit because I think $29 for a matte lipstick and lipliner is unnecessary for me. And I do not care much for Kylie Jenner lol. But if you still want to venture out and look for other lipstick brands, a great company is ColourPop! Their matte lippes are amazing and they are only $6 and the liners are $5. They also have really nice pigmented eyeshadows with a variety of colors. Check them out! 🙂

  3. Samantha says:

    I have heard nothing but great things about ColourPop, but I’m having a shipment error and may need to cancel my order. I’ll let you know what I think if I happen to end up keeping the order.

  4. hernandezmonica says:

    Where do they sell ColourPop ? I’ve been hearing that name and nothing but great reviews.

    1. mslolaaaa says:

      You can get their products online at colourpop.com

      1. hernandezmonica says:

        Thank you! Definitely going to order 🙂

  5. 4theloveofshooz says:

    Thanks for the review. I wanted to order some of this but the first time I tried it sold out. I actually just ordered a few colors from ColourPop and I love them. Plus they are a really good price.

Leave a Reply

