Starbucks Coffee Shop–The Writer’s Muse

        

When you walk into Starbucks coffee shop to get your morning coffee, or afternoon late`, do you happen to take a look around? If you never do, I implore you to pay attention next time when you get into a Starbucks coffee shop. Focus on the sitting area, where clients are allowed to sit and sip their coffee. 9 times out of 10 you will notice people siting and typing intensely on their laptops. 7 times out of 9, if you look closely or even go as far as daring to ask one of the typists, you will find out that they are working on some book or script, or news article. If you decide to stick around for a while, you’ll realize that they’d still be there when you up and leave 3 hours later.

So the question here is why Starbucks? What is it about Starbucks that lures writers? – “ I just love the quiet my mind finds in the midst of the Starbucks noise…” said Jude, a screenwriter at a Starbucks in midtown Manhattan. -“ I love to sit by the window and write as I experience this amazing city through the people who walk into Starbucks and the ones walking outside. You’ll be amazed by the ideas you just sitting there and observing. In the summer I do the same in central park,” said Alejandro an Argentinian writer and editor.- “I live in a shoebox and I write 12 hours a day! Can you imagine staying indoors all day all year staring at 4 walls? That’s why I come to Starbucks to write.”  said another aspiring screenwriter.                                                                                                         Whatever the reasons maybe, it is very evident that Starbucks is becoming the creating ground or dare I say Muse for aspiring and current writers.

Personally as a writer, before this little experiment I could pick up my laptop and start typing anywhere. But the other day I decided to try writing at my neighborhood Starbucks store. I have to say at first I found it very weird and distracting. What with people walking in and out every second, and kids racing up and down, not to mention the countless fast clicking sound of the other writers vigorously typing as though no one else was in they room. It was a bit too much for me. I was gong to leave but I didn’t want to look like a quitter, especially NOT in front of the other writers lol!. So I pushed myself to ignore my surroundings and start writing.

I have to say, once you figure out how to ignore the noise and distraction, the experience becomes nothing short of magical. There is something serene and peaceful about it. 2 hours later I was still writing! ! People I am telling you, a being of creativity exists in every Starbucks coffee shop! You should go try it sometime!

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. naifalbarzan says:

    Most people like to sit in StarBucks because they offer free WiFi!!

Leave a Reply

