Lasik Surgery- To do or not to do

 

“It was the best decision I’ve ever made!” “You won’t regret it!” “ I used to be as blind as a bat but now I see everything!” “I love my 20/20 vision!”

These are all the reviews you read on those Lasik eye surgery sites. But is this really true? Can one really go from almost blind to an eagle? Well before we proceed to ponder, let me define what Lasik eye surgery really is. Lasik eye surgery is a procedure that uses a blade or a Laser to correct problems related to vision in the eye, such as nearsightedness, far sightedness, and astigmatism.

As someone who’s been shortsighted for about 10 years now, I have to say these attractive reviews have been very tempting to say the least. The thought of not needing to wear glasses to do practically everything has crossed my mind oh so many times. I first found out about Lasik surgery 4 years ago when a childhood friend of mine who was almost 80% blind had this surgery. Now this friend wore her glasses (which were probably prescription strength: – 60!! not kidding!) to the shower, to swim, to play sports… she needed glasses to do any and everything. So 4 years ago I saw her at an event and she was without her glasses and she claimed to have a 20/20 vision with no side effects. Four years later, I am still wearing reading glasses! WHY?

Well the reason is simple I’ve read some really bad reviews too. People have reported dry itchy eyes that went on for years. Others reported loss of vision in one eye; others reported problems with night vision, color blindness, and redness. Others have even ended up needing to wear stronger prescription glasses than before. The scariest report I have read yet is about a young man of 29 who killed himself after his eyes just wouldn’t stop itching painfully. He described in his suicide note that he wasn’t able to go on living with those side effects, so he preferred to die. It kept me wondering how painful and unbearable the side effects could be.

Of course we know doctors will say it happens to 1 in a million, but those odds still scare me. Who is to say whom that unfortunate one is in that million? So dear readers, let me ask you… would you risk it?

5 Comments Add yours

  1. hernandezmonica says:

    Wow! This was definitely frightening to read. I don’t wear glasses so I don’t what that feels like. I’m not sure if I would have the surgery if I did have to wear them.

  2. trini1986 says:

    I had PRK done while I was in the Army because I wore glasses since i was about 10yrs old and trust me, its totally worth it, Its like seeing in HD now lol

    1. ChristineA says:

      wow! good for you! at this point i think I am 75% in .

  3. mslolaaaa says:

    Wow, that story of the man is definitely scary. I wear glasses and contact lenses. I don’t know if i would want to get the laser surgery. Contact lenses are tedious, but I think I will rather stay with it, at least for now.

    1. ChristineA says:

      I know right! we only have one pair of eyes and unlike limbs, they can’t be amputated with reusables.

Leave a Reply

