Why you give up ?

Since I came to New York City I found that there are many homeless people in this city. Whether in the subway station, street or even in some restaurants. Sometime it really makes me feel very sad, specially some holidays.

Sometime I will ask myself why some of them don’t go to work to change their lifestyle if they have the ability to work or use their talents to earn some money is better than just sit there and looks like already given up. I know as a  foreigner It’s not my business and I can’t judge them before I know them. Everybody have different stories in their lives. Maybe there are many reasons that we can’t define that. But as for me, I think everyone in this world are same, everyone have responsibility to try to change their lifestyles by themselves even we can’t control our destiny. like we know life is too short and we don’t have much time to waste it. People will not give up in you unless you give up by yourself. This is only represent my personal opinion no offense.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. hernandezmonica says:

    Although it is easy to say to someone to find a job, the reality is that it’s not as easy as we may think. There are many circumstances out of the control of people that leads them to be homeless. I think one of the things this country needs to focus on is mental health. Many homeless people suffer with mental illness, thus, it results in them being out in the streets.

    I believe the issue is deeper than “find a job.” The issue extends beyond someone giving up on their life and living out in the street. There is a system in place in this country that disenfranchises low-income folks.

    1. naifalbarzan says:

      I think that the major causes for this mental illness is using drugs. The majority of the homeless people are drug users or used to work in the army. In both cases, the responsible for finding solutions for them is the federal government, because I see this problem is a common problem in many states in the U.S.

  2. mohammedalajlan1991 says:

    This is really painfull stiuation,living in a street lonely without friend or even family I beleive they need a help from the society and the goverment

  3. chrishyao says:

    At that day, I met a homeless at the way back to my home. He want to a quarter to buy some thing. He said you must give me that quarter because he is a homeless. It’s the most ridiculous words. I know some homeless may suffer from the mental illness, but this one definitely give up himself.

Leave a Reply

