Weekend in San Juan, Puerto Rico

This past weekend I had the pleasure of traveling to Puerto Rico, la isla del encanto (island of enchantment). As the name says, it sure was enchanting. The weather was beautiful, the people were warm and welcoming, the food was delicious, and the sights were incredible.
The following are some of the great things to do if you were to ever visit San Juan, Puerto Rico:

The sights: San Juan, Puerto Rico is an extremely historical and cultural place. One of my favorite sights to see and I’d recommend seeing is the Castillo San Felipe del Morro. It took over 200 years to build and it’s purpose was to defend the port of San Juan and see who was coming in and out of the island.

  
The food: If you’ve ever had an empanada, you know how amazing they are. In every corner of San Juan, there was someone selling empanadas for as low as $1 and as high as $4. Empanadas are kind of like meat patties. Inside this delicious turnover could either be chicken or ground beef. I also tried Alcapurrias for the first time. They are a fritter dish and it is composed by dough made out of green bananas and yucca. Inside they are filled with meat.

 
Bright colors everywhere: At every corner of San Juan, you can see colorful homes and buildings. There is nothing more beautiful than a bright color. It helps bring this island a mystical vibe. I took pictures of some of the homes and buildings, see below:


Overall, even though I was only in San Juan for 3 days, I feel like I had a relaxing time. 3 days is certainly not long enough to get to know the whole island but it is a great beginning. The history of Puerto Rico is so rich and the food is amazing so I would definitely recommend it as place to visit. I will definitely be visiting again and this time I hope to spend more time in the beach.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. PEUNG110 says:

    NIce! I went there once long time ago. It reminded me of my country because the weather’s hot just like Thailand. Mostly, i spent time at the beach there and went to forest but i did remember about the colors!!!

    1. hernandezmonica says:

      I didn’t have a chance to go to the forest but I heard its amazing! I am definitely putting it on my list for the next time I go!

  2. abaalkhaila says:

    Nice place I hope I can visit this place one day

    1. hernandezmonica says:

      I hope so too! You’ll love it.

  3. mslolaaaa says:

    I absolutely loveee Puerto Rico! I’ve gone there for the past two years because my sister lived there. I had an amazing experience there. The food simply delicious!! Everything from the pastelillos, mofungo, and so on are to die for. The country is so colorful and rich with history.

    1. hernandezmonica says:

      I’m so jealous of your sister living there. It’s like waking up in paradise everyday. Definitely a beautiful place.

  4. Samantha says:

    This is my favorite city in the world ( at least out of the parts of the world I have been to) So beautiful and historic and colorful. I’m happy you got to experience it!

    1. hernandezmonica says:

      Yes, it was absolutely stunning!

  5. Wow nice pictures of a beautiful city. Puerto Rico is definitely one of my top 5 places to go. I envy you!

    1. hernandezmonica says:

      You should visit!

Leave a Reply

