Community Service Deed

During my time in undergraduate, I decided to partake in a community service program. The learning objectives I set for myself were to be a part of a community service program that allowed me to engage and meet with various people. Also to help improve my interpersonal skills and perhaps learn new leadership skills as well. My main objective and focus was to positively affect someone’s life and to be someone’s role model.

The community service:

Every Saturday morning till afternoon I met with children between the ages of 6-12 that came to my school campus to learn choreography for a show that they were putting on. I loved helping these children get their goal across, which was to put on an amazing show. It made me feel wonderful inside, that I was able to make little children smile. Many of the children loved spending their Saturday morning with me andI became a role model to them. Many of them told me that they want to become a dancer when they grow up. I thought that was very cute, I left a little impact on the children. My community service experience did not apply to a future career or educational goal, but it did leave me with leadership skills, that I know I can use in the future. This experience reinforced my perspective about people that you never know where people come from, or what people go through. You should treat everyone with respect and positively. Your smile can help someone without you even knowing it. And that is a beautiful thing. The most important thing I learned throughout this experience is patience. These children can be a little too energetic, or can get sidetracked easily. So teaching them choreography, and hoping they remembered it or would even pay attention required a lot of patience. I wouldn’t trade that experience for nothing. And I will always remember these children, they loved to dance and put on an amazing show for their peers and family to watch.

 

 

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. abaalkhaila says:

    something very good that you can help your community that will give a lot of an experience for the future

    1. mslolaaaa says:

      Thank you, I believe everyone should partake in some form of community service. It is always important to give back and embrace humility.

  2. naifalbarzan says:

    I used to live in Boston, and I was a part of the Children Hospital Community Service. I really loved the experience with that community and I always looking forward to their news in the press. Being an effective part of a certain community gives reasons to hope and rise commitment between this community. I’m pretty sure you still follow their news. Good luck for you and your community.

    1. mslolaaaa says:

      Thank you! And I am glad you loved your community service experience!

Leave a Reply

