The UAlbany experience

UA-UKNOWW is a chant that I have lived by for four years as a “Great Dane” Being a student at the University at Albany – SUNY has definitely been  a “once in a lifetime” experience. The school had its ups and downs, as I’m sure any other school would. And throughout my four years there, I can definitely say that your experience is what you make it. Because the school has a massive amount of students attending, everyone’s perspective of how the school is will be different. And I am willing to share mine.
So first things first, the most noticeable asset that SUNY Albany has as soon as you step foot on campus is its large diverse student body. A popular saying amongst us is “The World Within Reach”. There are various multicultural students on the campus with different nationalities, from African Americans, Hispanics, Asians, Native Americans, Caucasians, so on and so forth. I grew up in Long Island, and in my neighborhood there were majority African Americans, Hispanics, and Caucasians. It was very exciting for me to engage with other people outside of those ethnicities.
As I said earlier, your experience is what you make it. When I first came to SUNY Albany as a freshman in 2011, I made it my mission to join at least one student organization. It was brought to my attention that the school has over 200 clubs and organizations so my options were limitless. I joined a dance team and have been on it all four years. The last two years I took a leadership position. Through joining clubs, you meet a lot of people that you probably wouldn’t have crossed paths with. Another thing I like about the school is that there are many ways to seek assistance with academics, and future career choices. I wish that the school advertised it more to the student body. You can only find out about those resources if you go search for them. Unfortunately, If you are a new student, you wouldn’t really know where to search for assistance.
My class experience was overall good. I can only speak from a communications major student point of view and my only wish is that the courses for that major to be practical. The communication classes are very theory based, and I think that they should also be directed towards preparing us for the real world. Almost all general education classes have 500+ students in one class. It is very difficult to learn in classes like that because to the professor you are just a number in the class and he/she mainly just reads off slides. You must really push yourself and understand that knowledge is important if you want to make something out of your education from this school. But do not get me wrong, there are some great classes at SUNY Albany, with great professors; usually smaller classes. A great class to me are the classes that challenged me intellectually and made me think about important topics in society.
2 Comments Add yours

  1. abaalkhaila says:

    I think it is very interesting subject to know about more about it . When you know something like that we will Increase knowledge.

    1. mslolaaaa says:

      Yes exactly, like I always say ” Knowledge is Power!”

Leave a Reply

