#TrinidadCarnival2016 ; Travelling, Carnival, Fetes and Family from the eyes of a Trini

bliss-carnival-featuredAs the plane landed, the tune of Machel’s song like a boss started to play compliments of the pilot. I thought he probably experienced Carnival before or was a Trinidadian. In any case, it set the tone of how the Carnival trip was going to be and it was summed up in one word #epic.

For the first time in all my years being a Trinidad citizen, I indulged in the Mas playing and collected my costume from the infamous Carnival Band Tribe. Costume- ready! Ok, next on to the feteing (partying) part of Carnival. Checking out the schedule, I realize there were three to four fetes in a day. How am I going to go all?! I selected the most talked about fetes like Soaka, Machel Monday, JamNation and Hyatt Lime. This list covered everything from foreign performers like Major Lazer to being soaked with water and colored powder to free food and drinks throughout the fete hours #fetecyahdone.

After playing Mas on Monday and Tuesday and partying the days before, I decided it was time to spend the remaining time of my trip with family. I visited my grandmother, favorite aunt and cousin, mom and brothers #family_gang. We decided to go to the beach to spend some #qualitytime. The beach in a Caribbean country is the best remedy to wind down after the Carnival or a long day. The sun is blazing, the sand is warm under your toes and the water is a clean comforting blue. This is the dream I have going to the beach after playing mas #beachpump. This Carnival was an experience that would be etched in my memory forever.

Hopefully through this blog, my readers can be inspired to bless the shores of Trinidad for this festival. #TrinidadCarnival

2 Comments Add yours

  1. mslolaaaa says:

    Reading this has got me so excited! I have always wanted to go to Carnival! My friends and I have been planning since forever to go to Caribana in Toronto, Canada, but I know that is nothing compared to Trinidad carnival. I LOVE Soca! And can only imagine the amazing energy and vibes from a Trinidadian carnival. My dream is to play mas with an amazing beautiful and vibrant costume. I have a friend who is currently in Trinidad now, for a study abroad program and is having the time of her life. She posts all the time on SnapChat showing her carnival outfits. I will definitely make my bucket list dream of going to Trinidad for Carnival come true very soon. “We ready for the roaaaaad” (Had to play soca while I was writing this lol)

  2. trini1986 says:

    Yes you definitely should make a trip to Trinidad, you would have the time of your life, I guarantee it

Leave a Reply

