4 Effect Ways To Help You Relax

When my friends are nervously asking me some questions about finals, classes registered, advisor consulting and assignments what they couldn’t handle, I can feel her/ his nerves! Because I am also a person who is not good at handling nerves well sometimes.

We know that negative feeling will stop us thinking well then getting the best solution. Before our brain work, we need to relax!

Here are some tips to help us relax and feel well before some things coming, like finals.

1. Play

1
Photo from Tumblr

Yes, play. If it is hard for you to focus on anything, I suggest you stand up, go out and hang out with your friends. Play is a wonderful way to unwind, especially for grown-up.

Here is a story I know. I interviewed an excellent professor 3 years before. She mentioned a detail I still remember. She said, “when I struggle for my final Doctor project in America, I feel stressed and sad. It’s too hard to open my mind, then I go out for two-week journey. When I come back, I resolve all the problems which I feel I will never figure out!”

Playing out is a sure way to fuel our imagination, creativity, problem-solving abilities, and emotion well-being.

Play purposelessly, forget tons of work to do.

2. Visualize

golf_visualization
Photo from Google Image

I read an article recently. It points out experts suggested visualizing ourselves at a favorite spot will help us calm down, because our brains can’t distinguish between reality and imagination.

Note what’s around you as specific as you can. Are you by the sea? Are there the waves crashing to you?Are there kids playing? Are they making a beautiful sand castle on the sand? All these visualizations help you get out of negative emotion.

After visualization, do you feel better now?

33. Shop
Shopping!!! I remember a professor said in class, “spending money will make him happy. ” I think this way really works for girls especially, right? Lol.

When girls feel sad, angry, upset, intense, loaded, shopping is a gooood way to remove these negative feelings.

When you swap your credit card, do you feel cheer up?

Here is official term of that, retail therapy. The study conclusion published in the Journal of Psychology and Marketing in the U.S. Claims “retail therapy purchases were overwhelmingly beneficial, leading to mood boots and no regrets or guilt.”

D. Sharon Pruitt
Photo from D. Sharon Pruitt

So, feel sad? Try retail therapy!

4. Figure Out What Works for You

Someone unwind with a vigorous run and others by sitting on the couch and watching a TV show (btw I like Ellen show, so funny) or a comedy! Simple trial and error will help you find the best strategy works for you. You need really understand what kind of ways works for you, then use it and unwind.

Hope we all live a best life!

9 Comments Add yours

  1. remuswang says:

    relax is all i need now…. thank you for your suggestion!!!!

    1. Teresa says:

      Me too! You are welcome!

  2. jittapon19 says:

    I need all of them before the final. 🙂

    1. Teresa says:

      Yeah I know, the final is coming..

  3. shuangpan says:

    Obviously, I need all of them. It is time to relax. Thanks for sharing.

    1. Teresa says:

      Hi Shuangpan! You are welcome. Let’s make a schedule to relax after the busy week.

  4. Cool post! For boys we love to play video games, hang out, go to the club and do sports. Basically they all fall into your 4 categories too.

    1. Teresa says:

      Haha Thank you for you comments, Richard. Girls love shopping lol. But we also love hanging out and taking exercises.

  5. Monoploy says:

    Cool! But sometimes I give to much time for playing and after I realize it always too late to do a perfect work 😦

Leave a Reply

