My Top 5 Holiday Tunes

Christmas is approaching! Holiday season is here! I usually start getting festive in early fall, just because I love the Christmas songs. When it is almost Christmas, I usually gather my friends and we go to concerts at the churches, because it gives me the goosebumps! I’m pretty sure that in NYC, I’ll be able to find more concerts.

I’ve decided to share with you some of my favourite Christmas tunes. All of them, old or new, are considered as classics.

Here they are!

O Holy Night

This is a famous Christmas carol, composed by Adolpe Adam in 1847. The original lyrics were in French and based on a poem. The English version was written in 1855.

 

Silent Night

This carol was composed in Austria in 1818 by Franz Xaver Gruber. The English translation was done in 1859. Here is a version by Michael Buble. His Christmas album is a must have.

The First Noel

This carol is one of the few ones, which were originally written in English, published in 1823.

 

All I Want For Christmas Is You

Here comes a modern day Christmas classic! Written in 1994 for Mariah Carey’s Christmas album, the song became an instant hit and still is today. It re-enters to Billboard Holiday 100 chart every year during the holiday season. The song was reported to have earned more than $50 million in royalties.

Carol of the Bells

Originally a Ukranian carol “Shchedryk”. It was a folk-song in a pre-Christian era. So, the original has nothing to do with Christmas. English lyrics were written in 1930s and it became one of the classics ever since.

BONUS

Santa Claus is Coming to Town

Written by John Frederick Coots and Haven Gillespie in 1934, the song has become one of the well-known Christmas songs. Here is a recent version from Kylie Minogue’s Christmas album, in which they used Frank Sinatra’s old vocals to create a duet between them.

 

Do you like the holiday songs? What are your favourites? Share it here!

 

Happy Holidays!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. shuangpan says:

    Thanks for sharing, Can! All of songs are great. I prefer the fourth and the last one. Mariah Carey is one of my favorite singers. I think ‘Santa Claus is coming to town’ is alway the most classic Christmas song.

  2. sarahhjorthol says:

    Love all of these! One of my all time favorites is Wham! – Last Christmas.

  3. Kiara Morales says:

    All of these are my favorites I must say 🙂 thanks for sharing. I also really enjoy the Bing Crosby christmas album

Leave a Reply

