3 Things New York Taught Me

“If you love her, take her to New York, it will be Heaven. If you hate her, take her to New York, it will be Hell.” This is what I heard when I was in China.

IMG_6176Now, I’m in Manhattan, the heart of New York. I was spoiled by New York sometimes, and was slapped by New York on my face sometimes. I laughed and cried, angered and sorrowed. I felt the sense of achievement and loneliness at the same time. I quarreled with vulgar people but also built my own circle as I always did. If i have to conclude my life in New York into a short sentence, I would say, what doesn’t kill you only makes you stronger.

Here are the 3 things New York taught me:

  1. People only help the person who is worthy, so be worthy.

IMG_7723When you need a help, or you want to ask help from someone, think about yourself first— Why they have to help me? What can I offer to them?

People only contribute to assist you, if they believe that your reasons and cause is worthy of their effort. As grown men and women, we shouldn’t consume other people’s kindness and generousness. We need to make ourselves qualified, to proved them that we are worthy to be helped.

  1. Career is very important, but family is far more important.

IMG_8003Last week I spent the Thanksgiving holiday in my professor’s family, a big comfortable house in Long Island. She is an accomplished and dedicated professor, also a wife with 3 adorable children. When she drove me from the train station to her house, she told me the greatest accomplishment in her life is the 3 beautiful children. During the celebration, I can see that her family is very in harmony and she is delighted. If she had fewer children, she would definitely be more successful. However, she would never trade her family for success.

Career can’t give you LOVE and ACCOMPANY but family can.

  1. There is no one in this world who loves you more than you do, so love yourself. 

IMG_6505Always keep in mind that no matter what happens, tomorrow will not be the end of this world. People constantly enter and leave your life, however you don’t need them to survive.

Love yourself, better yourself from who you were yesterday. Do not spoil yourself too much, try to do something and be amazing.

You Only Live Once.    

 

 

View my post: I’m A Full-time Student With 1 Paid Job and 1 Unpaid Internship.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. CoolShadesGuy says:

    Very nice and motivating writing!!! I like this!!!

    1. remuswang says:

      Thank you.
      I’m glad you like it.
      all the words come from my heart !!

  2. Efrat Shamban says:

    Woww inspiring!!

    1. remuswang says:

      Thank you !!!
      All the ideas came from my experiences in NYC 🙂

  3. reshamp says:

    “career is important , but family is far more important’ very very true statement!!

    1. remuswang says:

      Thank you!!! I’m glad you enjoy my article
      Family is all I have !!!

Leave a Reply

