Thanks for letting me use your credit card!

Identity theft, cyber bullying, security breaches. These were words I had no idea would exist when I was growing up. Getting a hold of my friends meant running over and ringing the doorbell, “can Lisa come out and play?”
Now a days asking for a playdate looks like this:

sarah

Duckface and peace sign is mandatory in 2015

After watching Disconnect I started thinking about how easy it actually is to get your personal life invaded. You allow all kinds of apps to use your personal info, probably everyday. As for myself I could relate to Derek and Cindy Hull´s story, back in  September my credit card got used by someone in Portland who used over $1500. Luckily my bank noticed it early but the feeling of someone invading like that was scary. But hey, hope you enjoyed spending my money!

But back to my point earlier, kids now a days have so much more pressure than what I think I had. My little sister on 17 told me if she doesn’t get over 100 like on her Facebook profile picture she takes it down. Has the world become that shallow?

Australian Instagram phenomenon Essena O´Neill recently said she is quitting all social media because if its vanity. If this is true or just a genius PR stunt we will never know, but I think her points are valid. Hashtags like #ThighGap #StrongIsTheNewSkinny #Fit #BeachBody have surfaced the last few years, but where on earth did they come from?? We are so focused on our physical appearance that we often forget what is important in life. The hashtag #Thighgaps have per now 129,306 pictures on Instagram.

1 2 3 456

Being perfect online are most kids reality and everyday life, all eyes are on them – all the time. If you dont fit into the box society created for you, you are left without friends and practically no reason to life. Thats why many kids chose to end theirs.

  • 42% of teenagers with tech access report being cyberbullied over the past year
  • Of the 69% of teens that own their own computer or smart phone, 80% are active on social media
  • The average teen sends 60 texts per day – reducing face-to-face communication skills
  • Teen texting rate is DOUBLE the adult texting rate
  • Girls 14-17 text more – 100 per day
  • 7.5 million Facebook users are under 13 years old
  • 81% of teens say bullying online is easier to get away with
  • 3 million kids per month are absent from school due to bullying
  • 20% of kids cyberbullied think about suicide, and 1 in 10 attempt it.
  • 4500 kids commit suicide each year
  • Suicide is the No. 3 killer of teens in the US. (Car accidents #1, Homicide #2)

(source: cyberbullyhotline.com)

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Lise Hanssen says:

    It is scary how social media has taken over the world. I’m so happy I’m not growing up in 2015! All the pressure from social media about being skinny it’s overwhelming! I really hope this is gonna change soon!

    1. sarahhjorthol says:

      I agree! Think were a lot easier when we were kids.

  2. Efrat Shamban says:

    Scary but this is the reality

    1. sarahhjorthol says:

      Sad to say so, yes. And I think it is only going to get worse.

  3. Those figures are shocking. When cybersecurity and school bullying combined, something bad always happens. Kids are the most vulnerable group in the world. They are easily to do bad things because they just don’t know the outcome. Our society and our law maker really should protect them from being harmed and tell them what is right and wrong. Parents are not enough in dealing this.

    1. sarahhjorthol says:

      I had no idea the situation was that bad when I saw the numbers myself. I hope the direction taken forward is more positive than it is right now.

  4. saleh8 says:

    That are scary numbers of kids who used social media for bad purposes, I think it should be something that enable parents to monitor their kids. But how about those people who are adults and using social media like kids. It is really bad.

    The content and statistics of your blog will make me more enjoyable watching Disconnect

    Thanks

    1. sarahhjorthol says:

      I think parents can install a software that blocks kids from visiting different sites. But everyone has their own smart phone now, so it is more and more difficult to keep track.

Leave a Reply

