Cyberbullying – a Growing Disease!

Sunday night I decided to watch the movie “Disconnect” that Professor Scheckel recommened. I didn’t know what to expect, I just knew that it was about social media usage.

giphy

Half way through the movie I told my friend that I’m so happy we didn’t grew up with social media. Cyberbullying became a big problem when Facebook, Instagram, SnapChat, Twitter etc. were born. While I grew up with playing in the backyard and running around outside, kids now grows up with Iphones, Ipads, Computers and social media. My 4 year old nephew got an Ipad for his birthday, which I think is just crazy. He can unlock it, choose different games and go on YouTube, all by himself. For me it’s not normal, but for everyone growing up in 2015 it is.

giphy1

So it’s no wonder there are cyberbullies in 2015. Kids learn to use Ipads, phones and social media at a very young age. I know it’s not the reason for cyberbullying, but I think it is the reason why cyberbullying is a growing problem world wide. Instead of bullying face to face, kids can now hide behind their computers and say whatever they want. And when they post something it can reach millions of people in just a few minutes.

So what exactly is Cyberbullying? According to StopBullying.org, Cyberbullying is Bullying that takes place using electronic technology. Examples of cyberbullying include mean text messages or emails, rumors sent by email or posted on social networking sites, and embarrassing pictures, videos, websites, or fake profiles.

In 2013 a survey discovered that 15 % of high school students (grades 9-12) were electronically bullied the past year.

giphy3

Since Cyberbullying is a growing problem, I think it is weird that it hasn’t been done more to prevent it. Schools are still allowing children to use computers and cell phones, parents are still giving their children Ipads and the Government have still not done anything to stop this growing disease.

I know that it is hard to find out cyberbullying trends, since kids’ technology use changes rapidly. But I don’t think we are doing enough to prevent it.

What do you think? Are we doing enough?

Till next time!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Yes, I agree with you. We are certainly not doing enough to protect kids from cyberbullying. And our law is just too old and dull for the trend. I think we should all work together to deal with this problem and also with the cybersecurity and misusing of internet.

    1. Lise Hanssen says:

      I totaly agree with you! We should really work together to deal with this growing problem!

  2. Teresa says:

    This movie is great!This is my second time to see it. It literally tells us the bad side of social media, like cyberbullying! We need realize its bad side, and deal with it! Thank you for your article!

    1. Lise Hanssen says:

      Thank you for appreciating my blog post! Cyberbullying is really something that should get more attention, that way it may be prevented. I don’t think people know enough about it.

  3. Monoploy says:

    I haven’t watched it yet but since I read your blog I designed to watch it tomorrow. Really want to see how the movie describe this social media issues that you mentioned

    1. Lise Hanssen says:

      You should really see it! I learned a lot I didn’t knew was possible. It’s kinda scary to think about!

Leave a Reply

