One Word Describes Why I Love 80’s Movies

The 80’s. Seem like such a carefree time. Before 9/11 (so we still had some privacy), before mass shootings haunted America, and well, before we had Trump running for President (not that I mind Trump so much, it’s kinda hysterical).

Simplicity. That’s the lovely word I would use to describe what I love most about movies from the eighties. They were simple and relatable. Their was no intricate meaning behind any of them and there were no Iron Mans blowing up Manhattan. What you saw is what you got. And that was o.k. In fact it was great. Beyond that, most of them were laugh out loud comical. Has anyone seen Weekend at Bernie’s? I can’t remember the last time I went to a  movie theater and laughed out loud….

Some might suggest that these movies are brainless. And I get it, they are. But sometimes what’s wrong with that? Isn’t the point of going to the movies to escape reality for an hour and a half and get lost in it? And quite possibly laugh? I would like to think so. Sure most 80’s movies (well just about every one I’ve seen) are not as sophisticated as The Matrix, but sometimes that’s exactly what I need.

One Comment Add yours

  1. saleh8 says:

    seems to be a nice movie I haven’t watched it yet but I will after your blog.

    Do you know if it is available online ?

Leave a Reply

