If I see what color?

Black, yellow, red, white, brown. You would think these were colors we all used when drawing as a kid. At least that is what it means to me. Today, I feel like they mean something completely different.

Even though we are in the year 2015, racism is still a problem. I was debating on putting a question mark behind that sentence, because this is something I ask frequently. Why are we being judged based on the color of our skin, and not on your personality and skills? Haven´t we gotten to a point where we can rise above ignorance and get together as humans?

When I was growing up my grandfather was a philanthropist, so he spent a lot of time with refugees and traveling abroad to help others. I therefor met people from different parts of the world all the time, and were always fascinated by their culture. My mom told me at a very early stage “you never judge a person based on the color of their skin or on their religion”. I still to this day practice this, and I do not see color when I meet new people.

The reason why I am writing about this today is because one of my favorite Norwegian rap duo just released their new album. They got a lot of attention in the media back home because of their provocative lyrics on racism in Norway.

The chorus to the song below goes like this:

Monkeys in my block and Abu Bakr in my cockpit?
(Is this what my tax money go to?)
They said they came from poverty, but could afford a boat here
(Is this what my tax money go to?)
You are all cut from the same cloth

I know you guys can´t understand the words, but the video portraits how immigrates feel and are being treated by some people in Norway. The rap duo, Karpe Diem,  contains of Shirag and Magdi who are originally from India and Egypt. In this song they actually put the Minister of Justice on blast.

Magdi himself simply explained the reason behind the song: 


It’s about dehumanization of people who are different,
whether it is ethnicity, culture or race.
It is the way to reviewing others, using pest metaphors as “cockroach”
or that they “flows across borders”.

What is your view on racism today?

One Comment Add yours

  1. Lise Hanssen says:

    I think it is really sad that racism still exists today. I really thought that we, in 2015, would treat all people the same – despite which color we have. I think it’s great that Karpe Diem sheds light on this imporant topic!

Leave a Reply

