Religion Kills Humanity!

Does religion make the children meaner? I’ve just came across to an article about religious children being meaner than the secular ones.

To be honest, I agree.4827815756_d3b873a971_o

This is not limited to the children of course. I’m a believer but I define myself as a spiritual person. I do not see the need to follow a certain religion to connect with the creator, God or the Universe.. whatever you call it. However I do know that most people need to believe in a certain way and I respect that. Spirituality is not for everyone.

When you go into the core of most religions, the idea is the same. To be a better person, and I appreciate that. I’m also very open to learn about different religions and experience them. For me, the problem starts if it turns into a conservative belief, such as believing your own religion is the only right way and the rest of the world is going to burn in hell. Sorry but if that is your God, I refuse to believe in him.

2219894859_1c81195777_oThe biggest cruelty is when parents raise their children in that way, and by idealising their own religion. I do believe that this prevents most of the children questioning what they are being imposed on. If a child is raised up that way, of course he will be mean to the people that aren’t like him, and will label them as the “others”.

If you look at the world, almost all the cruelty and the suffering is caused by the blind beliefs. Whether it’s Islam, Christianity or any other religion, there are examples of all of them going wrong.

There is nothing wrong in believing in something as long as you keep it personal. As a matter of fact, if you are a true believer, you would accept and understand the other beliefs too.

In the end differences make the world more colorful. I wish one day everyone will appreciate that.

The Fruits of Religion by Andy Mangold

Pictures are taken from Andy Mangold, murdelta and jordi.martorell.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. shuangpan says:

    Your post is really interesting. To be honest, I have never thought the religion’s influence on children before. I come from an non-reglion household. My parents is very kind and altruistic. Like most people around the world, I think it is necessary to believe in God to be a moral person.

    1. Can Altuglu says:

      I believe that a person is able to appreciate religion more and in a better way if he/she is raised in a secular environment without any pressure.

  2. Lise Hanssen says:

    I totaly agree with you! I think that children should be able to choose what and who to believe in – not be forced by their parents!

    1. Can Altuglu says:

      Exactly, good to know there are people who agree with me!

  3. Kiara Morales says:

    It is a lot to think about when it comes to religion. I can see instances where I definitely agree with you, since pushing or forcing religion on someone, especially a child is no good, in my opinion. However, I also do find religion beautiful in that it makes people feel connected to something greater. It is all about coexisting, I guess 🙂

    1. Can Altuglu says:

      Coexisting, that’s what humanity needs to learn 🙂

  4. sarahhjorthol says:

    This is something I back you up 100% on, religion should be a place of peace and serenity and not a doctrine .

    1. Can Altuglu says:

      Definitely, thank you for your reply 🙂

  5. reshamp says:

    i agree with kiara too , while forcing religion on someone is absolutely incorrect, religion if taken in the right aspect is a beautiful connection with the lord and others around you.

    1. Can Altuglu says:

      Totally, it can be beautiful and peaceful but it shouldn’t be forced.

  6. Kewen Chen says:

    Every thing has two sides. Religion has it own beautiful while it also has some bad effects on disciples.

    1. Can Altuglu says:

      The good and the bad.. Unfortunately, we have been witnessing the bad for a long time. It’s time that we learn to live together in harmony with different beliefs.

Leave a Reply

