Wine counts as a serving of fruit, right?

If there is anything I really love, it´s a good glass of wine. On Holidays and Summer breaks I work for the Wine Monopoly back home in Norway, so you can say it is one of my hobbies.

Today I went to Millbrook Vineyeards & Winery with my aunt and my friend, and we were lucky to get the grand tour!
pic12

The tour started at the beginning where the grapes are harvested, meaning hand picked by the employees, and on to the process where they are being pumped into the fermentation vessel. Then further to the steel tank where it is being stored to let the carbon dioxide escape. That is where we had our first taste. Wine that is two years away from being bottled.

pic3pic1pic2pic5

The wine is then moved to oak barrels to they can mature better, and that is where they are stored until bottles. The second tasting step was to taste a 2014 Cabernet Franc that is being bottled in one month. I can spill the secret; it was pretty good!

We chose something called The Portfolio Tasting which includes six wines and one olive oil, but since my aunt knew the owner we got to sample a few more. They were so nice to us! These were the wines we sampled:

2014 Dry Riesling Proprietor´s Special Reserve
2014 Tocai Fruilano Proprietor´s Special Reserve
2014 Unoaked Chardonnay
2013 Merlot
2013 Cabernet Franc
Hunt Country Red
2014 Lollipop Hill Tocai Fruilano
2013 Chardonnay Proprietor´s Special Reserve
Villa Pillo, Italy – Extra Virgin Olive Oil

pic8

pic15pic7pic14pic16

My two favorites were  the 2013 Chardonnay and the Hunt Country Red. They are reasonable in price, and good for both food and just to drink my itself. When it comes to the olive oil, it was recommended to drizzle it over freshly popped popcorn with a drizzle of truffle salt. That is going to be my weekend snack, for sure!

We then pursued to walk around the property. The fall colors were absolutely beautiful, so all in all a perfect day.

pic10

pic9 pic11 pic13

If you have a day off I strongly suggest to take the tour. The staff were super friendly and welcoming, the wines are excellent, and some of them even local. New York is more than just concrete and sky scrapers 😉

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Monoploy says:

    I wish I could drink wine but whenever I try it, I really don’t like the smell. I don’t really understand wine people love to drink wine. But, anyway, The views are wonderful. It seem like you really have a perfect day 🙂

    1. sarahhjorthol says:

      I think they can help you find a wine you like! There are so many different grapes and possibilities 🙂

  2. Wow this is a really helpful post! How do you get there? Do I need to make an appointment?

    1. sarahhjorthol says:

      We took the Metro North from Grand Central, and my aunt picked us up in Beacon where we drove to the Vineyard. You do not need to make an appointment, but you can call in advance to check the availability.

  3. Efrat Shamban says:

    Woowww looks amazing!!!! I would also like to know how to get there?

    1. sarahhjorthol says:

      I know, can you believe this is in New York?? Of course, here is directions: http://www.millbrookwine.com/visit/directions/ and you can also take the Metro North going up there like we did, and drove from Beacon.

  4. Kewen Chen says:

    A great tour ! If I have an opportunity, I will go to visit it. 🙂

    1. sarahhjorthol says:

      Yes, it was such a beautiful day! And we learned a lot about wine 🙂

  5. biancaAvila says:

    Your post really captured my attention because the landscapes look foreign. I can’t believe it’s actually on Brooklyn.

    1. sarahhjorthol says:

      It´s actually up in the Hudson Valley, but the scenery is amazing!

Leave a Reply

