Costumed dogs take over New York

So it’s that time of year again – the Annual Tompkins Square Halloween Dog Parade. Last week I wrote about costumes for dogs and how I think that’s animal cruelty, that’s why I now want to write about the big parade.

Photo cred @Betty Tsang
Photo cred @Betty Tsang

It’s on Saturday October 24th from noon to 3 p.m. the 25th Annual Dog Parade takes place in Tompkins Square Park. On this day you will see hundreds of dogs dressed up as Superman, Batman, Tinkerbell and more.

According to the National Retail Federation, americans will spend a total of $350 million on their furry friends this year. The data estimates that 20 million pet owners will dress up their pet in some sort of Halloween outfit.

Big prizes
The dog parade takes place every year and CNN calls it “the largest dog costume parade in the world”. Tompkins Square Park will turn into a zoo, where people can show of they creative costumes for their pets. However, the parade is not just a gathering for dogs in Halloween costumes, it is also a competition where the pet owners can win thousands of dollars in prizes.

Is it right for pet oweners to dress up their dogs to win money? I really don’t think so. A dog is not a doll to be turned into a princess or a superhero.

Photo cred @istolethetv
Photo cred @istolethetv

Think about the dog, not youself
ASPCA, The American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals, have made a list of things to think about if you want to dress up your dog this Halloween.

First you got to be sure that your dog likes to be put in a costume, not all do. And if you decide to dress up your dog, make sure that he or she can move and hear properly. The costumes should not impede the dogs ability to breathe or bark.

What do you think about the Annual Tompkins Square Halloween Dog Parade?

Till next week!

12 Comments Add yours

  1. sarahhjorthol says:

    In my opinion, this is just stupid. Why dress up a dog? They do not look comfortable, nor happy in their costumes.

    1. Lise Hanssen says:

      I don’t get the point either, but it’s obviously people who loves to do it! Which I think it’s sad.

  2. Kiara Morales says:

    Lise, I admire the perspective you bring to this very important issue. Not many people think to consider what the dog needs, or might be feeling when being dressed up. For me, I am concerned for them or their paws being cold when the temp drops, but I guess it all depends on the way they are reacting to being dressed.

    1. Lise Hanssen says:

      I’m all for having socks on dogs during the winter! It can get very cold for their paws, so that I understand! But to dress up a dog as a princess it’s totaly different!

  3. Monoploy says:

    I keep reading your blog and I feel like you really want to stand for dogs. I want to tell you that you are such a warm person.

    1. Lise Hanssen says:

      I do love dogs, but I also understand that not everyone shares my views. But thank you very much, I really appreciate it 🙂

  4. Kewen Chen says:

    I appreciate your thoughts about dogs. I believe you are a real lover of dogs. 🙂

    1. Lise Hanssen says:

      Thank you, I really do love them 🙂

  5. amoytt says:

    Through this post i could feel how deep love you have with the dogs, and i am on your side, wear something to keep them warm is totally different with dress up like a princess!!!

    1. Lise Hanssen says:

      Thank you 🙂 Yeah it is a huge different between keeping them warm and dressing them up!

  6. sarahhjorthol says:

    Maybe this is something for the people who dressed their pets? LOL
    http://creativity-online.com/work/temptations-say-sorry-for-the-holidays/44186

    1. Lise Hanssen says:

      Lol, people are crazy!!!!

Leave a Reply

