Slightly Stuck on the Subway

Slightly stuck on the subway
Slightly stuck on the subway

Crowded, unfriendly subway rides are never fun, especially when you are in a hurry. Those rides become even more of a burden when the train comes to an emergency stop due to an “unauthorized person on the tracks.” The grimaces on the already fed up faces are plentiful, not to mention the swear words that go flying. Which is just what happened to me, this past Saturday, on the 1 train, while I was out on one of my excursions.

As you may know, if you read my last post, one of my favorite spots in the city, is Washington Square Park, and on the way there the conductor had to activate the emergency stop. Just as you would imagine everyone was thoroughly disgruntled. While I too was upset, I also couldn’t help but let out a sigh of relief.

The 1 Train
I am grateful to have the 1 Train

At that moment, when we all realized that our sudden jolt was the emergency brake, the conductor came into the cabin to notify us of the terrible situation. Someone had unfortunately thrown themselves onto the tracks, and we had luckily missed them. We were to wait until the first responders showed up to ensure safety clearance. I was relieved to hear that the person was okay, and had so much concern for the conductor who had to deal with that kind of situation, and yet, all of us on the subway could and grumble and complain about how it was inconveniencing us!

This had definitely made me more aware of how grateful I am for public transportation and the people who make it possible for us to get around. Albeit, I may still complain about delays, or crowding, but will make the compromise to stay positive about it.

As an aside, the 110th anniversary of the subway is fast approaching, take a look through the history on their website here.


6 Comments Add yours

  1. CoolShadesGuy says:

    HAHAHAHA This always happens!

    1. Kiara Morales says:

      LOL oh noooo, they are going to have to get better wifi down there to keep everyone calm!

  2. amoytt says:

    delay, change lines, construction, and crowed always in NY subways. and I lost my metro card last week T T. Fortunately right now we got the unlimited metro card insurance.

    1. Kiara Morales says:

      Ahh! I’m sorry to hear about your metrocard! I love my metrocard, even though when it comes time to buy it my bank account cries tears of pain! How does the metrocard insurance work? that is something I definitely need!

      1. amoytt says:

        here is the website told you the details about it, hope you will not need it hahaha http://www.mta.info/press-release/mta-headquarters/transit-riders-benefiting-new-metrocard-insurance

Leave a Reply

