Why does everyone hate Mondays?

I personally love Mondays. It is the beginning of a new week, new opportunities and you don´t know what or where it will take you. Since I have Mondays off this semester, I always do something all day that I enjoy.

Today, me and my friend went exploring in the East Village. I always find something new to look at, to taste, to be curious about. I simply love my neighborhood. The first thing we walked by was this beautiful flower shop, all the colors just caught my right away.

IMG_0099

IMG_0100

Walking further down towards Avenue B, I just started to notice all the buildings. They each had their own personal style and character. “I really have to start looking up more, instead of just my phone”, I thought to my self.

IMG_0093IMG_0094IMG_0112IMG_0101

I haven´t even finished my though when this amazing spice shop appeared out of nowhere. I love cooking, so spices to me is something I actually enjoy shopping (after shoes, clothes and purses, of course…ha ha). There were so many cool and different thing, and as I have mentioned previously, I love exploring new cultures.

IMG_0103

IMG_0104

After all those smells we got so hungry, and I don´t know if this was strategically placed, but, across the street was this Middle Eastern place called Horus Cafe. We hadhummus, babaghanoush, falafel, tomatoes, feta cheese, tabbouleh salad and shwarma. Let´s just say we rolled home instead of walking. If you like this type of food, check out their menu.

IMG_0105 IMG_0107 IMG_0108 IMG_0110

If you are in this neighborhood or close by, I strongly recommend to explore! It has so much authenticity and charm, I got to know it in a whole other way today, and I am so glad I did.

And also, my kitchen window is looking spicier than ever!

IMG_0113

 

 

18 Comments Add yours

  1. Lise Hanssen says:

    I really love east village! So many bars and good restaurants. I’m gonna check out the spice shop though!

    1. sarahhjorthol says:

      I agree, Lise! EV is such an exciting place to explore 🙂 And the spice shop was amazing

  2. Monoploy says:

    Look like you have an Awesome Monday. I gonna go there once if I have chance.

    1. sarahhjorthol says:

      You really should, it´s a fun place to be!

  3. Kewen Chen says:

    I am happy that you like plants. I like to live with plants. I bought several potted succulents. I put them near my bed. 🙂

    1. sarahhjorthol says:

      Oh you do? Is that a special purpose of something? 🙂

  4. Kewen Chen says:

    I am not against it. Some people really treat dogs as a member of their family. They treat dogs or cats as babies with their love.

    1. sarahhjorthol says:

      I think you might have the wrong blogpost here? he he

  5. Efrat Shamban says:

    I don’t really enjoy Mondays because I work on Sundays sometimes but on my next free day I def will explore this area 🙂

    1. sarahhjorthol says:

      Then I can see why Mondays are rough on you. Yes, you must absolutely take the time!

  6. jittapon19 says:

    I like the decoration of Horus Cafe. It is very unique and the food looked delicious too.

    1. sarahhjorthol says:

      It was very different, and if you like Hooka they have that too 🙂

  7. biancaAvila says:

    nice monday activities , just to chill and enjoy. What is the name of the spice shop?

    1. sarahhjorthol says:

      I did not actually see the name, because it just popped up! But it is on 9th St and Avenue B

  8. Can Altuglu says:

    I’m always around Greenwich village and I prefer the village area to uptown. I think I need to discover East Village now, it looks so pretty.

    1. sarahhjorthol says:

      I want to explore West Village more, so let me know if you have any tips!

  9. Your lucky to have Mondays off… most people hate the beginning of the work week because their weekend off seems so far away….

    1. sarahhjorthol says:

      I used to like Mondays when I worked too, but I can totally understand why some people don’t 🙂

Leave a Reply

