My Memoirs, As a Singer

Let me tell you a little story about myself…

10172752_10152444957994388_875743483943958168_n

It was in summer of 2013, when I met the successful Turkish songwriter, Deniz Erten. I was hoping to get into the music industry for quite a while and I was sure that she was the best person in Turkish pop scene who could direct me to the path that I wanted to follow.

Single Cover
Single Cover

Soon after, we started working. Even though, we have a good pop music scene in Turkey, nobody really gives a break to the young artists, all the famous stars are usually over 30, which is the opposite of the US and Europe. So, I already knew it was gonna be hard to make my break. But I had to try.

Deniz wrote Turkish lyrics to a perfect R&B/Pop song “Bana Oynama” (Don’t Play Me) composed by an American artist Richard Younglord, and before I knew I was in the studio recording it. In few weeks, I was signed to a major record label DMC, which had all the popular artists under its roof. I was happy and excited.

After the song was done, my favorite part of the experience was about the begin. Filming the video. I’ve met with 4 directors with different ideas. I ended up working with none of them. At the last minute, I was able to reach one of my favorite Turkish directors Senol Korkmaz. He was born and raised in Europe, so he knew exactly how I wanted to look and presented.

1597116_744342762265029_417251634_o
Filming the video

I remember the video shoot so vividly, because first of all it was so fun, and secondly it took almost 20 hours to wrap it up. I went into set at 10 am in the morning and left around 6 am the next day.

In December 2014, we released the single. First reactions were great. Even though I didn’t really have the connections to promote myself, people were noticing me and my video and they were being very positive about it.

In the first months of 2015, I started promoting. The first month, I entered to the Top 10 singles chart, and stayed there for three months, entering at #5 and rising up to #3. I did some interviews and TV appereances also. It was a good start.

1538807_707629492603023_1254167929_n
One of my TV appearances, in March 2015.
A Promotional Shot
A Promotional Shot

After a while, I started to learn more about the business and realised that I wasn’t being supported enough. The label had many successful artists who brought lots of money and they weren’t keen on spending that money on young artists, in this case myself. I wasn’t getting the help to be on TV and the press, and for future songs, I was being advised to change my style into something more “Turkish”. I refused. I didn’t know what to do next, and I thought about it, in the end I decided to study a little bit more and that’s how I ended up in the US.

Interview on Hurriyet, a famous Turkish newspaper
Interview on Hurriyet, a famous Turkish newspaper

I’m still signed to the label (my contract expires in late 2016), so I don’t know what will happen in the future. I definitely want to do more music, but I want to experiment with different styles, such as house, electronic and dance music. I don’t expect to earn money out of it, but I want to satisfy myself and my creativity.

Check out my music video below and please share your thoughts!

To get the song on iTunes Store, click here.

15 Comments Add yours

  1. sarahhjorthol says:

    Very nice and visual video, Can! Where did you shoot it?

    1. Can Altuglu says:

      Thanks, glad you liked it! We were supposed to shoot it in Belgium, that’s where the director lives but he ended up coming to Istanbul, so we shot it at a film studio in Istanbul.

  2. OMG!!!This is so amazing that I cannot even believe. You are such a talented singer with a lot of great performance. And your choice of coming to US to study is also overwhelming. I believe you can learn what you expect and continue your career after your graduate study! Keep going!

    1. Can Altuglu says:

      Thank you Richard! Yes, coming to the US was a sudden decision for me, but i believe being here will inspire me artistically too. So who knows, I might even continue from here.

      1. You are right! I like the way you keep trying new things without hanging around in the same spot. New york is a great city where you can always pick up a lot!

  3. Kiara Morales says:

    The song and the video are incredible!! Any experiences and inspiration you gain while here, I am sure you will turn into even more artistically wonderful things. I agree with Richard, keep going!

    1. Can Altuglu says:

      Thank you so much! I hope so too!!

  4. Monoploy says:

    Let’s perform once in class, I am sure everyone want to see your performance. LoL.
    Anyway, NYC gonna give you such a great experience. Hope to listen to your new song in future, GOOD LUCK.

    1. Can Altuglu says:

      Haha thank you so much! 🙂

  5. remuswang says:

    Great !! I like your music style !!
    I strongly support you just to be yourself and produce more amazing songs in the future !!

    1. Can Altuglu says:

      Thanks Remus, I will!

  6. biancaAvila says:

    very catchy ,love it! nice video as well.

    1. Can Altuglu says:

      Thanks!

  7. CoolShadesGuy says:

    That was cool man!!! I do music too and I like your sound. well done!

    1. Can Altuglu says:

      Hey thanks! I’d love to hear your sounds too!

Leave a Reply

