Homeless and helpless

Walking around in New York City always amazes me. It is so much to see, so much to do and so many interesting people. Even though it is a beautiful city, it is hard not to notice the people that are less fortunate.

A homeless man with his dog in New York.
A homeless man with his dog in New York.

It swams of homeless people in the Big Apple. It is heartbreaking to see young people living on the streets with no money or a place to sleep. But as a dog lover my heart breaks even more when I see a dog laying under a blanket next to their owner.

I know that the homeless people take good care of their dog, but the question that I always ask myself is “why get a dog when you can’t even take care of yourself?”

In the summer time the dogs are sweating and in the winter time they’re shivering. Is it fair that homeless people acquire a dog just because they’re lonely and need some company? I don’t think so. They can’t ask people for money or food like people can. They are not just homeless, they’re also helpless.

I never give money to a homeless person with a dog. Instead I buy a bottle of water and something they both can eat. What good will it do if the owner just buy drugs for the money you give them? I think it is imporant to also think about the dog in a situation like this. Do you agree?

Till next time!

12 Comments Add yours

  1. amoytt says:

    Agree with you, i also give them the food instead of money, i think it may more work than money…..

    1. Lise Hanssen says:

      I’m happy to hear that it’s not just me that gives them food instead of money πŸ™‚

  2. sarahhjorthol says:

    This is so sad.. I really feel bad for the dogs!

    1. Lise Hanssen says:

      I agree, it’s so sad!

  3. Monoploy says:

    Got you point. But, anyway, some homeless can make a lot of money by acting like that. So, Even they look so hopeless but still I don’t want to give them money. They better find job. That’s what I think.

    1. Lise Hanssen says:

      That’s true, Monoplay. I also believe some of them are tricking us, but it’s just hard to walk away when I see a dog laying there.

  4. Kiara Morales says:

    NYC breaks my heart everyday, from walking to school to the subway ride home. I do agree with your sentiment about providing food, especially if they have a dog, since it is two hungry mouths.

    1. Lise Hanssen says:

      It is awful! But I’m glad you see my point πŸ™‚

  5. The one thing I ‘ll say in support of the homeless owning a dog, is, if you have nothing but a reliable friend, at least you have that. A dog can be a companion, protector and a piece of the world they have lost – and has lost them. It may make life more difficult, but it might also make life more bearable.

    1. Lise Hanssen says:

      I see your point! Owning a dog probably makes their life more bearable. Everyone needs love and dogs def gives a lot of love. They don’t care if you’re homeless or rich, that’s what makes them special πŸ™‚

  6. remuswang says:

    I saw a very poor homeless man on street last night, seemed he was sick and unconscious, then we called police for help. Hope he will be fine

    1. Lise Hanssen says:

      Happy to hear that you called the police! Very sad to see people in that shape 😦

Leave a Reply

